Album News, Digital Music, Video — September 30, 2010 at 6:30 am

Dream Syndicate’s Steve Wynn to release ‘Northern Aggression’; download ‘Resolution’

Steve Wynn, circa 2008

Former Dream Syndicate leader Steve Wynn will issue Northern Aggression, his third album with The Miracle 3, this fall — and to tease the upcoming release, he’s giving away a free MP3 of the record’s guitar-heavy opening track “Resolution,” which can be streamed and downloaded below.

The 11-track album — Wynn’s first with his Miracle 3 cohorts Jason Victor, Linda Pitmon and Dave Decastro since 2005’s …tick…tick…tick — is due out Nov. 30 on Yep Roc Records, the label announced this week. Yep Roc also has just posted a five-minute video preview of the record featuring interviews with Wynn and his bandmates, plus studio footage and song clips (see full tracklist and promotional video below).

In that video, Wynn discusses the recording of Northern Aggression, saying, “This record is maybe our most aggressive record in a lot of ways, not just cause some of it rocks really hard — we’ve done that before — but I think aggressive in that all the elements are taken to its own extreme. The weird, hazy, dreamy psychedelic songs are very much that way, the drone rockers drone harder, everything is just really exciting.”

Stream and/or download Steve Wynn’s ‘Resolution’ after the jump…

Steve Wynn and the Miracle 3, 'Northern Aggression'

Tracklist: Steve Wynn and the Miracle 3, Northern Aggression

1. “Resolution”
2. “We Don’t Talk About It”
3. “No One Ever Drowns”
4. “Consider the Source”
5. “Colored Lights”
6. “The Death of Donny B”
7. “The Other Side”
8. “Cloud Splitter”
9. “St. Hillwood”
10. “On the Mend”
11. “Ribbons and Chains”


One Comment

  1. Steve Wynn and the Miracle 3 are on tour. If they are coming anywhere near you, I cannot recommend enough that you go see them. I saw them in Tempe, AZ a few days after 9/11 in 2001. There were only about 30 people there. It was the most amazing music experience. It was cathartic. They blew me away. And since there were so few people there they hung out with us for a while after they performed and were just great people.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *