Setlist, Video — October 2, 2010 at 8:09 am

Video: Elvis Costello and Nick Lowe play ‘(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding?’ in San Francisco

Last night, San Francisco’s Great American Music Hall hosted a pair of concerts dubbed “Costello Sings Lowe/Nick Sings Elvis,” a benefit for the Richard de Lone Special Housing Fund that featured Elvis Costello performing songs written by his onetime producer and collaborator Nick Lowe, and vice versa.

According to the planned setlist for the early show that was photographed and posted to the Elvis Costello Wiki, the duo opened with a duet of “Here Comes the Weekend” (see video below), a song Lowe co-wrote with Dave Edmunds for the latter’s 1977 album Get It. The pair then mostly alternated songs, performed an instrumental of Costello’s “Accidents Will Happen” and let their band members sing a few songs, too.

It comes as no surprise, of course, that the duo closed the show by jointly performing the classic single “(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love and Understanding” (see video above), the 1974 song Lowe wrote for his band Brinsley Schwarz and that Costello later covered for the B-side of Lowe’s 1978 “American Squirm” single; that version was then added to Costello’s Armed Forces album in 1979.

See last night’s setlist and more video after the jump…

‘Costello Sings Lowe/Nick Sings Elvis’

Setlist: Elvis Costello and Nick Lowe, Great American Music Hall, S.F., 10/1/10 (early)

1. “Here Comes The Weekend” (Vocals: Elvis Costello & Nick Lowe)
2. “When I Write The Book” (Vocals: Elvis Costello)
3. “Home Is Anywhere You Hang Your Head” (Vocals: Nick Lowe)
4. “Don’t Lose Your Grip On Love” (Vocals: Elvis Costello)
5. “Mystery Dance” (Vocals: Nick Lowe)
6. “I Trained Her To Love Me” (Vocals: Elvis Costello)
7. “Poisoned Rose” (Vocals: Nick Lowe)
8. “I Love The Sound Of Breaking Glass” (Vocals: Bob Andrews)
9. “Oliver’s Army” (Vocals: Nick Lowe)
10. “I’m A Mess” (Vocals: Elvis Costello)
11. “Alison” (Vocals: Nick Lowe)
12. “Cruel To Be Kind” (Vocals: Elvis Costello)

13. “Accidents Will Happen” (Instrumental)
14. “Lover Don’t Go” (Vocals: Austin de Lone)
15. “Indoor Fireworks” (Vocals: Nick Lowe)
16. “What’s Shakin’ On The Hill” (Vocals: Elvis Costello)
17. “Love My Baby Now” (Vocals: Nick Lowe)
18. “Monkey To Man” (Vocals: Bill Kirchen)
19. “Heart Of The City” (Vocals: Elvis Costello & Nick Lowe)

20. “(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love And Understanding?” (Vocals: Costello & Lowe)

Video: Elvis Costello and Nick Lowe, “Here Comes the Weekend”



  1. Thanks for posting this!! I was at the later show and it was the most incredible show I’ve been to in my life

  2. What a fantastic show it must have been and all for a really great cause. Bob Andrews was on the stage as well!!!! It will probably never happen again. I really envy all who saw it. With Bill Kirchen and Austin de Lone helping out it seems like the greatest pub rock show on earth. All these guys go back along way so that makes it extra special.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *