Album News, Tour Dates, Tracklist — October 21, 2010 at 3:16 pm

INXS enlists Ben Harper, Rob Thomas, Tricky to re-record hits for ‘Original Sin’ best-of


The surviving members of INXS finally have unveiled the tracklist and release dates for their long-in-the-works Original Sin greatest-hits collection, featuring re-recordings of the band’s classics with new vocals by the likes of Ben Harper, Rob Thomas, Tricky and even occasional frontman J.D. Fortune.

The 11-track disc is due out Nov. 8 in the band’s native Australia, but won’t arrive in the U.S. until Jan. 11, when it will be released on the revived ATCO Records imprint — which released 1982’s Shabooh Shoobah and 1984’s The Swing — through Rhino Entertainment, according to a news release posted by The Audio Perv.

The band has spent the last two years working on the new collection of songs, drafting singers to fill in for the late Michael Hutchence. According to a tracklist posted by Australia’s Triple M radio, the disc features guest vocals by Tricky (“Mediate”), matchbox twenty’s Thomas (“Original Sin”), Harper (“Never Tear Us Apart”) and Train’s Pat Monahan (“Beautiful Girl”). (See full tracklist and cover art below.)

The collection also features on-again, off-again frontman Fortune singing “The Stairs,” off 1990’s X (which was released this week in Canada via iTunes), plus an opening “Drum Opera” by INXS’ Jon Farriss, and a version of “Don’t Change” credited solely to band members Andrew Farriss and Kirk Pengilly. Triple M also reports that some of the tracks recorded for the disc, including one by The Killers’ Brandon Flowers, didn’t make the cut, and “may one day surface on a second volume.”

In the announcement of the project, Jon Farriss says:

“We wanted to celebrate the songs, they’re such great songs,” he says. “I think initially there was a mixed bag of emotions and feelings, which was probably a good thing because we realized how much the songs meant to us. But at the end of the day we started to realize that this is actually cathartic for us and it might be for everyone else as well.”

INXS, with Fortune on vocals, also has announced its first Australian tour in 3 1/2 years, an eight-date run of summer shows that’s part of the A Day on the Green series of winery concerts. The band will be joined by Train and Australian acts Baby Animals and Models for the upcoming trek, which runs Jan. 25 through Feb. 12.

See INXS’ ‘Original Sin’ tracklist and tour dates after the jump…

INXS, 'Original Sin'

Tracklist: INXS, Original Sin

1. “Drum Opera,” Jon Farriss
2. “Mediate,” INXS featuring Tricky
3. “Original Sin,” INXS featuring Rob Thomas
4. “Never Tear Us Apart,” INXS featuring Ben Harper & Mylene Farmer
5. “Beautiful Girl,” INXS featuring Pat Monahan
6. “New Sensation,” INXS featuring Deborah de Corral
7. “Just Keep Walking,” INXS featuring Dan Sultan
8. “To Look At You,” INXS featuring Kav Temperly
9. “Mystify,” INXS featuring Loane
10. “Don’t Change,” Andrew Farriss & Kirk Pengilly
11. “The Stairs,” INXS featuring J.D. Fortune

INXS tour dates:

Jan. 25: Robert Oatley Vineyards, Mudgee, NSW, Australia
Jan. 26: Centennial Vineyards, Bowral, NSW, Australia
Jan. 29: Bimbadgen Estate, Hunter Valley, NSW, Australia
Jan. 30: Sirromet Wines, Mt Cotton, QLD, Australia
Feb. 3: Kings Park & Botanic Garden, Perth, WA, Australia
Feb. 5: Annie’s Lane, Clare Valley, SA, Australia
Feb. 6: Rochford Wines, Yarra Valley, VIC, Australia
Feb. 12: All Saints Estate, Rutherglen, VIC, Australia



  1. BOO! Blasphemy. Money-grubbing bastards are ruining the good name of INXS. Make peace with your lot boys. Stop sullying the name of a great band.

  2. Kent Butabi

    I think JD is a great addition to the band, but I don’t understand what all the back and forth is about.

  3. Sounds like a good idea! NOT. SMDH.

  4. The Stairs featuring JD Fortune, who has fronted the band since 2005, was released yesterday, October 19th in Canada on itunes. It is a fantastic rendition of a great song. And on the first day – it already hit the third most popular INXS song on itunes of ALL INXS songs on itunes. Cheers to INXS and BRAVO JD FORTUNE! For a more complete story, check out the article at Macleans Magazine ( that is based on interview done this past week with Jon and JD and the video of the making of Original Sin and The Stairs with JD Fortune. ( Best Regards.

  5. It is STUNNING…simply STUNNING!

    JD FORTUNE’s version of the INXS classic “The Stairs” off the soon-to-be-released “Original Sin” CD is one of the absolute best covers my ears have ever had the pleasure of listening to!

    For anyone who hasn’t heard it yet…RUN, don’t walk, to ITUNES CANADA now and purchase this glorious masterpiece by one of the most talented, inspiring and gifted musicians of our time…JD FORTUNE!

    To hear some of JD FORTUNE’S amazingly brilliant original music, check out his official website at http://WWW.JDFORTUNE448.COM!

  6. Kent Butabi

    I thought you can’t go to other country’s iTunes page to buy music. Is there a trick to it?

  7. I’ve listened to JD Fortune’s version of “The Stairs” and it is fantastic! He really pours so much passion into his performance and it made me appreciate this beautiful song even more.

  8. TheFortunista

    JD FORTUNE”S interpretation of “The Stairs” delivers a powerful and passionate message. The song is an exciting fusion of classic INXS and contemporary rock elements. JD provides strong vocals that soar as the song progresses, then soften to render a hauntingly beautiful ending. Perfection!!
    “The Stairs featuring JD Fortune” is currently available as a single at iTunes Canada. If you live in another part of the world, you can hear an interview with JD and listen to the song itself at:

  9. I agree with the previous comments about JD Fortune’s contribution to this album. Of all of the singers performing on this tribute, he should be given top billing for his delivery. He performs the vocals for “The Stairs,” one of INXS’s most moving songs, as seen by long-time INXS fans. This was quite an undertaking and only JD could have taken on such a challenge. He sang it passionately, lovingly and respectfully, and I can’t stop listening to it. It is obvious how much he himself loves the song. He is the sole frontman enabling me to continue my 28-year love affair with INXS.

  10. I have now heard this whole album and really believe that JD Fortune’s version of The Stairs is the best song on it! It’s worth buying the whole CD just for this song alone!

  11. Read my full review of ‘Original Sin’ here:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *