Album News, Tracklist — November 5, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Dinosaur Jr’s J Mascis to release solo-acoustic album ‘Several Shades of Why’ in March

Dinosaur Jr's J Mascis

Ear-splitting guitar ace J Mascis of Dinosaur Jr tones things down considerably next spring with the release of his first proper solo album, an acoustic — and apparently drum-free — collection called Several Shades of Why.

The 10-track album is due out March 15 on Sub Pop Records, according to Pitchfork, and follows, in Mascis’ non-Dinosaur oeuvre, two albums with The Fog, two records with Witch, a Sweet Apple full-length and a pair of live solo-acoustic discs: 1996’s Martin + Me and the 2006’s archival J Mascis Live at CBGB’s: The First Acoustic Show.

In other Mascis news, the guitarist plays a benefit concert on Nov. 13 in New York City for Embracing the World, a nonprofit organization founded by Hindu humanitarian figure Sri Mata Amritanandamayi Devi, better known as Amma. In 2005, Mascis released an EP of devotional songs and chants dedicated to the spiritual leader.

See full tracklist for ‘Several Shades of Why’ after the jump…

Tracklist: J Mascis, Several Shades of Why

1. “Listen to Me”
2. “Several Shades of Why”
3. “Not Enough”
4. “Very Nervous and Love”
5. “Is It Done”
6. “Make It Right”
7. “Where Are You”
8. “Too Deep”
9. “Can I”
10. “What Happened”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *