Dance, Tracklist, Video — February 2, 2011 at 6:39 am

Pet Shop Boys to release ‘The Most Incredible Thing’ 2CD ballet score next month

Pet Shop Boys

Moving from the disco to the ballet, synthpop vets Pet Shop Boys next month will release a 2CD set featuring their score to the Hans Christian Andersen adaptation “The Most Incredible Thing,” the duo’s first-ever full-length “narrative ballet,” set to debut in London in mid-March.

Due out March 14 on Parlophone Records, the album — a “combination of electronics and orchestra” across three acts (see full tracklist and watch a video preview below) finds the Pet Shop Boys’ Chris Lowe and Neil Tennant recording with the Wroclaw Score Orchestra, conducted by Dominic Wheeler.

The production itself — featuring former Royal Ballet star Ivan Putrov — is a collaboration between PSB and choreographer Javier de Frutos to stage a pop-inflected ballet based on Andersen’s 1870 story about “a princess, a kingdom, and of two very different approaches to the task of creating something extraordinary.”

“The Most Incredible Thing” will be in previews March 17-19 and 21, then premiere March 22-26 at London’s Sadler’s Wells dance house. More dates at Sadler’s Wells are planned, as well as a full tour in 2012, according to the band’s site.

See ‘The Most Incredible Thing’ tracklist and video preview after the jump…

Pet Shop Boys, 'The Most Incredible Thing'

Pet Shop Boys, The Most Incredible Thing


Act One
1. “Prologue”
2. “The Grind”
3. “The Challenge”
4. “Help Me”
5. “Risk”
6. “Physical Jerks”
7. “The Competition”
8. “The Meeting”

Act Two
9. “The Clock 1/2/3”
10. “The Clock 4/5/6”
11. “The Clock 7/8/9”
12. “The Clock 10/11/12”
13. “The Winner”
14. “Destruction”


Act Three
1. “Back to the Grind”
2. “The Miracle – Ceremony”
3. “The Miracle – Revolution”
4. “The Miracle – Resurrection”
5. “The Miracle – Colour and Light”
6. “The Miracle – The Meeting (reprise)”
7. “The Wedding”


One Comment

  1. Wow. Not sure what to think about this. More power to them, I guess. I will reserve judgment. Not my cup of tea.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *