Digital Music, Tracklist — April 4, 2011 at 6:59 am

Kate Bush reveals ‘Director’s Cut’ tracklist; stream 1st single, ‘Deeper Understanding’

Kate Bush, circa 2011

The stage-shy Kate Bush returned to the studio to record all-new vocals for the 10 tracks off 1989’s The Sensual World and 1993’s The Red Shoes that comprise her forthcoming collection Director’s Cut, the singer announced today, revealing both the set’s tracklist and its first single — a reworked version of “Deeper Understanding.”

The lead vocals and drums on each of the Director’s Cut tracks are all new performances (see tracklist below), according to a news release from Bush’s label, and some include guest musicians Steve Gadd, Danny Thompson and Mica Paris. Three of the songs, including “This Woman’s Work,” have been completely re-recorded.

In a statement, Bush says:

“For some time I have felt that I wanted to revisit tracks from these two albums and that they could benefit from having new life breathed into them. Lots of work had gone into the two original albums and now these songs have another layer of work woven into their fabric. I think of this as a new album.”

Perhaps the most notable inclusion on the album, due out May 16, is “Flower of the Mountain,” a retitled version of “The Sensual World.” As Bush explains, she originally had tried to use some text from the end of James Joyce’s “Ulysses” in the lyrics, but could not obtain permission from the author’s estate.

She explains:

“I then wrote my own lyrics for the song although I felt that the original idea had been more interesting.  Well, I’m not James Joyce am I? When I came to work on this project I thought I would ask for permission again and this time they said yes.   It is now re-titled ‘Flower Of the Mountain’ and I am delighted that I have had the chance to fulfill the original concept.”

Bush also released the first single off the collection today, the new version of Sensual World track “Deeper Understanding,” which caused some alarm among fans when a sample of the track emerged last month featuring what sounded like Auto-Tune treatment on the vocals. That track, which does feature the vocal effect, can be streamed below; Bush’s son, Albert, is featured on the new version, “singing as the computer program.”

A short film of “Deeper Understanding,” directed by Bush and starring Robbie Coltrane, Frances Barber and Noel Fielding is expected to follow in a few weeks.

See ‘Director’s Cut’ tracklist and hear ‘Deeper Understanding’ after the jump…

Kate Bush, 'Director's Cut'

Tracklist: Kate Bush, Director’s Cut

1. “Flower of the Mountain” (previously ‘The Sensual World’)
2. “Song of Solomon”
3. “Deeper Understanding”
4. “Lily”
5. “Red Shoes”
6. “This Woman’s Work”
7. “Moments of Pleasure”
8. “Never Be Mine”
9. “Top of The City”
10. “And So Is Love”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *