Album News, Tracklist, Video — May 19, 2011 at 6:16 am

Blondie sets ‘Panic of Girls’ release dates, debuts video for first single ‘Mother’

Blondie, circa 2010

New Wave legends Blondie — anchored by original members Debbie Harry, Chris Stein and Clem Burke — will release their long-in-the-works ninth studio album Panic of Girls in the U.K. next month and in the U.S. in September, and are previewing the release with a new video for lead-off single “Mother.”

The album, recorded largely in Woodstock, N.Y., in the fall of 2009, will first be released June 1 in the U.K. as a “fan pack” — a 132-page magazine that also includes a copy of the CD with two bonus tracks. The standard CD will be released June 4 in the U.K. and, the band announced Wednesday, it will come out in the U.S. sometime in September.

The new record — the band’s first since 2003’s The Curse of Blondie — features 11 songs, including a track sung in French (“Le Bleu”) and another sung in Spanish (“Work Off My Sweat”), the latter of which features trumpet by Beirut bandleader Zach Condon. Blondie also covers a Beirut track (“Sunday Smile”), and throws in a cover Sophia George’s 1985 reggae hit “Girlie Girlie,” as well.

See ‘Panic of Girls’ tracklist and ‘Mother’ video after the jump…

Blondie, 'Panic of Girls'

Tracklist: Blondie, Panic of Girls

1. “D-Day”
2. “What I Heard”
3. “Mother”
4. “The End The End”
5. “Girlie Girlie”
6. “Love Doesn’t Frighten Me”
7. “Words In My Mouth”
8. “Sunday Smile”
9. “Wipe Off My Sweat ”
10. “Le Bleu”
11. “China Shoes”

Ride "Nowhere: 20th Anniversary Edition"


  1. Mr. Teeny

    Man, that Dr. Luke-style production sounds dated already.

  2. i remember zombies.

  3. Wow! They resurrected all the silly video cliches from the 80s while simultaneously aping the worst of today’s soulless dance pop. I like Blondie but I don’t like this.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *