Milestones, Video — May 21, 2011 at 10:27 am

Milestones: Kevin Shields is 48 today; watch My Bloody Valentine concert from 1989

We interrupt our ongoing and most likely perpetual MBV Watch feature to mark the birthday of noise-pop visionary Kevin Shields — he’s turning 48 today — by presenting this full 14-song, 53-minute Isn’t Anything-era My Bloody Valentine concert filmed at the University of London Union on Feb. 16, 1989.

You can watch the full show — courtesy of YouTube user monsmartyrium — in the playlist embedded above, or check out individual chunks at Slicing Up Video. Consider it proof, however fleeting, that Shields once did things in public of a musical nature.

See My Bloody Valentine’s 2/16/89 setlist after the jump…

Setlist: My Bloody Valentine, University of London Union, London, UK, 2/16/89

1. “Emptiness Inside”
2. “You Never Should”
3. “Lose My Breath”
4. “Sueisfine”
5. “Cupid Come”
6. “Cigarette in Your Bed”
7. “Nothing Much to Lose”
8. “Thorn”
9. “I Can See It (But I Can’t Feel It)”
10. “Soft as Snow (But Warm Inside)”
11. “Feed Me with Your Kiss”
12. “(When You Wake) You’re Still in a Dream”
13. “Slow”
14. “You Made Me Realise”

Ride "Nowhere: 20th Anniversary Edition"

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *