Radio — June 10, 2011 at 7:00 am

Morrissey to debut 3 new songs in live session on Janice Long’s BBC2 show next week


Last month, Morrissey revealed he’s got a new record finished, and while the former Smiths singer doesn’t have a label lined up to release it, fans will get a chance to hear three new songs — “Action is My Middle Name,” “The Kid’s a Looker” and “People are the Same Everywhere” — next week on the BBC.

Fan site True To You — Moz’s semi-official conduit — reported the song titles that will be broadcast Tuesday night, on the eve of his summer tour, on Janice Long’s show on BBC2. According to another fan site,, Long announced on the air that she was recording “new music” at a session with Morrissey today for broadcast next week.

Long tweeted, “Yep, these tracks have not been heard or performed anywhere else yet, and you can hear them on the show midnight Tues night!”

The new songs will be Morrissey’s first since 2009’s Years of Refusal, although since that album’s release, he has released a number of projects, including the Swords B-sides compilation, a reissue of Bona Drag (with unreleased material on that disc and the accompanying “Everyday is Like Sunday” single) and Very Best of Morrissey (again, with unreleased material on an accompanying single for “Glamorous Glue”).

UPDATE 6/14/11: Stream all three new Morrissey songs here.


Ride "Nowhere: 20th Anniversary Edition"


  1. Rad! Looking forward to hearing these new tracks!

  2. He’s really covering the all the bases with these song titles:
    1. You’re roguish, self-aggrandizing song.
    2. You’re coy nod to possible (homo)sexuality.
    and last, but not least:
    3. The world is full of crashing boars/and or is a pigsty.

    These almost read like parodies of Morrissey titles. But then again, “Don’t they all?” … oh, come to think of it, that could be the title of a Moz song as well.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *