Album News, Anniversary, Tracklist, Video — June 30, 2011 at 5:30 am

The Alarm celebrates 30th anniversary with ‘The Sound and The Fury’ album, film

The Alarm, 'The Sound and The Fury'

Frontman Mike Peters is marking the 30th anniversary of The Alarm with The Sound and The Fury, a 12-track collection of “brand-new recordings of songs that have been written at various stages throughout (his) songwriting history” that will come with a 90-minute making-of documentary.

The album, available online via Peters’ own label, is preceded by a single featuring a new recording of “Unbreak the Chain” (see the video below), an early concert staple that previously was recorded during a 1983 BBC session — which is the version that later was used as a B-side to the band’s 1986 single “Knife Edge.”

Other tracks receiving a makeover on The Sound and the Fury include “Howling Wind,” originally on 1984 debut Declaration; “Shelter,” from 1987’s Eye of the Hurricane; and “Back Into the System,” Peters’ debut solo single, released in 1994. The set also includes a “new” song: “Strength to Strength,” an unfinished cut from Eye of the Hurricane.

Peters — who lately also has been fronting Big Country — says on The Alarm’s website that he felt it was important to “adopt a forward-facing approach” to marking the band’s 30th anniversary: “I had the idea to bring together songs from all the eras that I have been a published recording artist, and approach them as brand new songs.”

See The Alarm’s ‘The Sound and The Fury’ tracklist after the jump…

Tracklist: The Alarm, The Sound and The Fury

1. “Unbreak The Promise”
2. “Shelter”
3. “The Rock”
4. “Peace Agreement”
5. “Fade In Fade Out Fade Away”
6. “Who’s Gonna Make The Peace?”
7. “Strength To Strength”
8. “Back Into The System”
9. “How The Mighty Fall”
10. “For Freedom”
11. “Only The Thunder”
12. “Howling Wind”


Ride "Nowhere: 20th Anniversary Edition"


  1. Never has any artist dedicated themselves to their fans quite like Mike Peters. Love this guy and his music since Declaration.

    • You said it. I didn’t know too much about him behind the mic until I saw him talk about joining Big Country. Seems like a sincere, caring bloke. Good for him and his fans!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *