Digital Music, Tributes — July 19, 2011 at 8:21 am

Meat Puppets, The Vaselines cover Nirvana for Spin’s free ‘Nevermind’ tribute album

With its massive 20th anniversary reissue approaching in September, Nirvana’s landmark 1991 album Nevermind receives a track-by-track remake courtesy of Spin, which is offering a free download of the project via the magazine’s Facebook page. Dubbed Newermind, the 13-track set — hidden song “Endless, Nameless” is included, too — features ’80s indie stalwarts Meat Puppets giving “Smells Like Teen Spirit” a mostly acoustic spin, while The Vaselines fittingly return the favor, covering “Lithium” after Kurt Cobain and Co. famously covered three of the Scottish act’s songs in the studio and during the band’s “MTV Unplugged” taping. Other contributors include Amanda Palmer (“Polly”), Surfer Blood (“Territorial Pissings”) and Telekinesis (“On a Plain”).


DOWNLOAD: Spin’s Nirvana Nevermind tribute (via Facebook)


Tracklist: Various Artists, Newermind

1. Meat Puppets, “Smells Like Teen Spirit”
2. Butch Walker, ” In Bloom”
3. Midnight Juggernauts, “Come As You Are”
4. Titus Andronicus, “Breed”
5. The Vaselines, “Lithium”
6. Amanda Palmer, “Polly”
7. Surfer Blood, “Territorial Pissings”
8. Foxy Shazam, “Drain You”
9. Jessica Lea Mayfield, “Lounge Act”
10. Charles Bradley and the Menahan Street Band, “Stay Away”
11. Telekinesis, “On A Plain”
12. JEFF the Brotherhood, “Something In The Way”
13. EMA, “Endless, Nameless”





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *