Reissues, Tracklist — August 8, 2011 at 6:49 am

Shriekback’s ‘Oil and Gold’ to receive 2CD reissue with B-sides, mixes, live tracks

The celebrated third album from dancefloor-ready post-punk act Shriekback — 1985’s Oil and Gold, featuring signature song “Nemesis” — will be reissued next week in the band’s native U.K. as a 2CD set featuring a remastered edition of the original album and a bonus disc with 10 B-sides and live tracks, some never before issued on CD.

Due out Aug. 15 on Cherry Red’s Lemon Recordings imprint, the reissue’s bonus disc features live versions of the songs “Suck,” “Mothloop” and “Feelers,” plus a pair of “Nemesis” remixes and the B-sides to second single “Fish Below the Ice,” including the classic “My Spine (Is the Bassline).”

Oil and Gold found Shriekback — co-founded by early XTC member Barry Andrews and Gang of Four bassist Dave Allen — in transition, with the addition of former Damned and current Public Image Ltd. guitarist Lu Edmonds and the departure, during the recording, of singer Carl Marsh.


Tracklist: Shriekback, Oil and Gold

CD 1: Original Album
1. “Malaria”
2. “Everything That Rises Must Converge”
3. “Fish Below The Ice”
4. “This Big Hush”
5. “Faded Flowers”
6. “Nemesis”
7. “Only Thing That Shines”
8. “Health And Knowledge And Wealth And Power”
9. “Hammerheads”
10. “Coelocanth”

CD 2: Bonus Disc
1. “Suck” – Live Hatfield Poly (Shrk3)
2. “Mothloop” – Live Hatfield Poly (Shrk3)
3. “Feelers” – Live Hatfield Poly (Shrk3)
4. “Nemesis” – Extended
5. “Nemesis” – Arch Deviant Mix
6. “Fish Below the Ice” – Single Edit
7. “All Lined Up” – B-Side “Fish Below the Ice”
8. “My Spine (Is The Bassline)” – B-Side “Fish Below the Ice”
9. “Fish Below the Ice” – The Plankton Enriched Mix
10. “Fish Below the Ice” – Dance Mix




  1. Great album, and it’s cool to see it get the DLX reissue treatment. I had those “Fish Below the Ice” remixes on 12-inch vinyl back in the day, and they were ace. And I always thought “Health and Knowledge and Wealth and Power” would have made a cool James Bond film theme.

    Hopefully, someday they’ll reissue the less-heralded but equally great album that preceded this, “Jam Science.” I don’t think it’s ever been properly released in digital format, as its original issue in 1984 just preceded the “suddenly, even weird albums no one has ever heard of are available on CD” moment.

  2. Just yesterday, my wife and I were on the phone, and she said my daughter was on the other line and she’d merge the calls. As soon as she said merge, we both started singing “Everything that Rises Must Converge”!

    one of my all time favorite albums – can’t wait to get a hold of this!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *