DVD, Tracklist — August 17, 2011 at 8:11 am

Talking Heads ‘Chronology’ DVD to feature live performances from 1975-1983, 2002

Eagle Rock Entertainment this fall will release a DVD compiling Talking Heads live performances from across the band’s touring career, an 18-track set called “Chronology” that spans the years 1975 to 1983 — and includes the quartet performing “Life During Wartime” during its brief reunion at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2002.

Due out Oct. 18, the DVD also will come in an initial, limited-edition version packaged in a hardback cover with a 48-page book featuring photographs of the Talking Heads and an uncut version of the famed rock critic Lester Bangs’s essay on the 1979 album Fear of Music that originally appeared, in edited form, in the Village Voice, according to product listings.

In terms of bonus features, the disc also features commentary by all four band members — David Byrne, Jerry Harrison, Chris Frantz and Tina Weymouth — as well as a 1978 interview with Byrne.

Performance-wise, the DVD includes songs filmed during the band’s early days at CBGB’s in New York up through the band’s final tour in 1983 supporting Speaking in Tongues, the trek that yielded the Stop Making Sense film and album. Songs featured on the DVD include “Psycho Killer,” “Crosseyed and Painless,” “Love → Building On Fire” and “Burning Down the House.”


Tracklist: Talking Heads, “Chronology”

1. “Mic Test” (1976)
2. “With Our Love” (1975)
3. “I’m Not In Love” (1975)
4. “Psycho Killer” (1975)
5. “Intros Montage” (1976)
6. “The Girls Want To Be With The Girls” (1976)
7. “Don’t Worry About The Government” (1978)
8. “Dressing room fan footage: Found A Job” (1978)
9. “Thank You For Sending Me An Angel” (1978)
10. “Warning Sign” (1978)
11. “Artists Only” (1979)
12. “Take Me To The River” (1979)
13. “Crosseyed And Painless” (1980)
14. “Animals” (1980)
15. “Love → Building On Fire” (1982)
16. “Cities” (1982)
17. “Burning Down The House” (1983)
18. “Life During Wartime” (2002)



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *