Album News — November 11, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Pet Shop Boys to release ‘Format’ B-sides comp, spanning 1996-2009, in February

The Pet Shop Boys  not only are expecting to release a new studio album in 2012, they’re currently assembling a brand-new B-sides compilation — a sequel to 1995’s 2CD set Alternative that will be called Format, and span the years 1996 to 2009 — for release in February, the duo revealed in a new interview this week.

In an interview with Varsity, the Cambridge University newspaper, Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe reveal their plans for the B-sides compilation — perhaps a bit prematurely.

“I was listening to some of our old songs recently, because we’re putting out another B-sides album in February, like an Alternative part two. But we’re calling it Format,” says Neil, referring to their classic B-sides collection from 1995.

Chris sounds a little concerned, “We’re not announcing that yet, are we?”

“Well why not – these things are usually leaked through some Japanese website anyway. I’d rather it came out here,” insists Neil. “It’s all our B-sides from 1996 to 2009, starting with ‘The Truck Driver and His Mate.'”

“Oh I like that song,” Chris pipes up, “It’s just our little tribute to Oasis. In fact Jon Savage pointed out that it’s the chord change from ‘Some Might Say.’ Though he’d better not put that in the sleeve notes when he writes them.”

Last month, Tennant revealed he and Lowe are now at work writing material for their upcoming 11th album, which they hoped to begin recording this month and then release sometime next year. The album would be the Pet Shop Boys’ first since 2009′s Yes.  Since then, the duo has released a best-of called Ultimate and their score to the ballet The Most Incredible Thing.

UPDATE 11/16/11: The Pet Shop Boys today revealed the tracklist and release date for Format, which will include 38 newly remastered B-sides and bonus tracks originally released between 1996 and 2009. The 2CD set will be released Feb. 6 on Parlophone Records, and will feature an interview with Tennant and Lowe in the booklet by Jon Savage.


Tracklist: Pet Shop Boys, Format

1. “The Truck Driver and his Mate”
2. “Hit and Miss”
3. “In the Night” (1995)
4. “Betrayed”
5. “How I Learned to Hate Rock ‘n’ Roll”
6. “Discoteca” (New Version)
7. “The Calm Before the Storm”
8. “Confidential (Demo for Tina)”
9. “The Boy Who Couldn’t Keep his Clothes On”
10. “Delusions of Grandeur”
11. “The View From Your Balcony”
12. “Disco Potential”
13. “Silver Age”
14. “Screaming”
15. “The Ghost of Myself”
16. “Casting a Shadow”
17. “Lies”
18. “Sexy Northerner”

1. “Always”
2. “Nightlife”
3. “Searching for the Face of Jesus”
4. “Between Two Islands”
5. “Friendly Fire”
6. “We’re the Pet Shop Boys”
7. “Transparent”
8. “I Didn’t Get Where I Am Today”
9. “The Resurrectionist”
10. “Girls Don’t Cry”
11. “In Private” (7-inch mix): Pet Shop Boys with Elton John
12. “Blue on Blue”
13. “No Time for Tears” (7-inch mix)
14. “Bright Young Things”
15. “Party Song”
16. “We’re All Criminals Now”
17. “Gin and Jag”
18. “After the Event”
19. “The Former Enfant Terrible”
20. “Up and Down”





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *