Album News, Tracklist — December 9, 2011 at 6:56 am

Wire to release ‘The Black Session – Paris 10 May 2011’ live album in February

Classic U.K. post-punk outfit Wire will commemorate its year-long tour in support of the band’s current record, Red Barked Tree, by giving its recent tour-only live album — the 13-track The Black Session – Paris 10 May 2011 — a full worldwide release in February.

Due out Feb. 7 and initially sold on the band’s fall U.K. tour, the live set was recorded last May at Radio France’s Paris studios in front of an audience as part of Bernard Lenoir’s series of live broadcasts. The recording is also Wire’s first to feature new touring guitarist Matt Simms, who joins core members Colin Newman, Graham Lewis and Robert Grey.

According to the band material, The Black Session finds Wire “in razor-sharp form, tightly honed after months of touring.” The collection features a mix of cuts from this year’s Red Barked Tree as well as classic songs such as “Pink Flag,” “Kidney Bingos” and “Map Ref 41°N 93°W.”


Tracklist: Wire, The Black Session – Paris 10 May 2011

1. “Adapt”
2. “Comet”
3. “Smash”
4. “Please Take”
5. “Kidney Bingos”
6. “Clay”
7. “Map Ref 41°N 93°W”
8. “Moreover”
9. “Two People In A Room”
10. “Down To This”
11. “Drill”
12. “Red Barked Trees”
13. “Pink Flag”





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *