New Releases — December 19, 2011 at 5:51 am

New releases: Joy Division, Vince Clarke & Martin Gore, Mark Reeder, ‘I Melt With You’

Record Rack: A round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs.


ARTIST : Joy Division
RELEASE: +/-: Singles 1978-80
BACKSTORY: The limited-edition box set comprised of 10 newly remastered 7-inch singles from the Manchester post-punk legends that was released late last year is being reissued in the U.K. this week — this time on compact disc, collecting “CD replicas of 10 singles presented in a beautiful clamshell box” (see full tracklist here).


Spock EP
The first collaboration by former Depeche Mode bandmates Vince Clarke and Martin L. Gore in 30 years, an EP featuring the album version of “Spock,” plus four remixes, arrives on 12-inch vinyl this week after being released digitally a few weeks ago (see tracklist here).
BUY: (Vinyl)


ARTIST : Mark Reeder
RELEASE: Five Point One
BACKSTORY: The British electronic musician and producer compiles a 2CD/1DVD set, for release in the U.K. this week, of some of his recent remixes of artists including Depeche Mode, Bad Lieutenant, John Foxx, Die Toten Hosen, Pet Shop Boys, Anne Clark and more, all in 5.1 Surround sound (check out samples of each track here).


ARTIST : Various Artists
I Melt With You: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
The soundtrack for the under-the-radar film “I Melt With You” arrives this week and features selections from The Jesus and Mary Chain, Bauhaus, Pixies, Love and Rockets, Galaxie 500 and Adam & The Ants — plus yet another new version of the title track by Modern English.




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *