Album News, Reunions — March 29, 2012 at 7:09 am

Ultravox’s ’80s lineup returns with ‘Brilliant’ — first new album together in 28 years

The classic ’80s-era lineup of Ultravox — Midge Ure, Billy Currie, Chris Cross and Warren Cann, who reunited onstage in 2009 for the first time since Live Aid — this spring will follow up their comeback tours with the 12-track Brilliant, their first new studio album together in 28 years, EMI Records announced today.

The album is scheduled for a May 28 release in the U.K., and will be followed by a yet-to-be-announced, 13-date tour of that country in September and October. European dates also are expected. The album will be the first from Ultravox since 1994’s Ingenuity, and the first from the band’s most commercially successful lineup since 1984’s Lament.

The band’s Ure-led lineup — best known for hit singles “Vienna” and “Dancing With Tears In My Eyes” — reunited in 2009 and subsequently released the Return to Eden live album.


Tracklist: Ultravox, Brilliant

1. “Live Again”
2. “Flow”
4. “Brilliant”
5. “The Change”
6. “Rise”
7. “Remembering”
8. “Hello”
9. “This One”
10. “Fall”
11. “Let It Lie”
12. “Satellite”
13. “Contact”




  1. Now, when do we start the campaign to get Ultravox to tour North America?

  2. This is the classic lineup of Ultravox. This should not to be confused with the best lineup when John Foxx was the lead singer.

  3. Jim stewart

    The best line up!!! And i agree, we need a US tour… It’s been 30 years!

  4. ericthegardener

    I certainly was first aware of (and liked) the Midge Ure era Ultravox, but now I much prefer the John Foxx era.

  5. Great news indeed. If they do half as well on this new release that OMD and Wire did with their respective recent releases then we are all in for a treat.

  6. I want this album from 1995!
    I’m really sure it’s a masterpiece!!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *