Album News, Tour Dates, Tracklist — April 23, 2012 at 8:07 am

The Charlatans to reissue ‘Tellin’ Stories’ as expanded 2CD set, play album live in U.K.

Madchester survivors The Charlatans this spring continue their somewhat haphazard reissue campaign by following up expanded editions of 1990 debut Some Friendly and 1999’s Us and Us Only with a double-disc re-release of 1997’s Tellin’ Stories — which will be followed by four performances of the album in the U.K. this June.

Due out May 28 in the U.K. on Beggars Archive, the 20-track, 15th anniversary Tellin’ Stories: Expanded Edition will be released in a limited-edition (1,000 copies) 2LP vinyl set packaged in a gatefold sleeve as well as a limited-edition (2,000 copies) 2CD set in a slipcased jewel case. The reissue also will be available as an HD 96 khz/24 bit digital download.

According to Beggars, the first disc features the original 11-track album “remastered from the analog studio tapes,” while the second disc featuring eight B-sides from the album’s single as well as a previously unreleased, early version of one of those B-sides, “Don’t Need a Gun,” which originally was called “Rainbow Chasing.”

The band will celebrate the record’s anniversary reissue by performing it live at least four times this summer, with headlining dates scheduled in Manchester, London and Glasgow, plus an appearance at the Isle of Wight Festival (see dates below).

Finally, frontman Tim Burgess also has penned an autobiography titled, appropriately, “Telling Stories” (note the book gets a “G,” but the album doesn’t), which will be published this week in the U.K. and apparently contains revelations about the band’s rectal cocaine use.


Tracklist: The Charlatans, Tellin’ Stories: Expanded Edition

CD 1
1. “With No Shoes”
2. “North Country Boy”
3. “Tellin’ Stories”
4. “One To Another”
5. “You’re A Big Girl Now”
6. “How Can You Leave Us”
7. “Area 51”
8. “How High”
9. “Only Teethin’”
10. “Get On It”
11. “Rob’s Theme”

CD 2
1. “Two Of Us”
2. “Reputation”
3. “Don’t Need A Gun”
4. “Down With The Mook”
5. “Title Fight”
6. “Keep It To Yourself”
7. “Rainbow Chasing” (“Don’t Need A Gun” first take) *
8. “Clean Up Kid”
9. “Thank You” (Live)

* Previously unreleased


The Charlatans Tellin’ Stories tour dates:

June 1: O2 Apollo, Manchester, UK
June 8: HMV Hammersmith Apollo, London, UK
June 9: Barrlowland, Glasgow, UK
June 23: Isle of Wight Festival, UK





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *