Reissues, Tracklist — May 30, 2012 at 7:50 am

Jimmy Somerville’s Bronski Beat, Communards catalog reissued as 2CD sets

Singer Jimmy Somerville’s three mid-’80s studio albums with synthpop groups Bronski Beat and the Communards each will be reissued this summer as expanded double-disc sets loaded with a host of B-sides, remixes, live tracks and more — with some of the material making its way to CD for the first time ever.

On July 2, Demon Music Group will release, in the U.K., new editions of Bronski Beat’s 1984 debut The Age of Consent, packaged with the remix album Hundreds & Thousands, along with the Commumards’ two albums, 1986’s Communards and 1987’s Reds.

In addition to the remix album, the reissue of Age of Consent — the only Bronski Beat album Somerville appeared on — features 14 additional tracks, including non-album singles and remixes. Likewise, Communards features 17 bonus cuts, and Red is loaded with 23 extra tracks, including the entire Storm Paris live album originally released on three 12-inch singles. The sets also include new liner notes by Somerville. See full tracklists below.


Tracklist: Bronski Beat, The Age of Consent/Hundreds & Thousands

CD 1: The Age of Consent + More
1. “Why?”
2. “It Ain’t Necessarily So”
3. “Screaming”
4. “No More War”
5. “Love and Money”
6. “Smalltown Boy”
7. “Heatwave”
8. “Junk”
9. “Need-a-Man Blues”
10. “I Feel Love/Johnny Remember Me”
11. “Smalltown Boy” [7” edit] *
12. “Why” [remix] *
13. “I Feel Love Medley” (Source Mix) *
14. “It Ain’t Necessarily So” [12” version] *
15. “Red Dance” *
* Bonus tracks

CD 2: Hundreds & Thousands + More
1. “Heatwave” [Goldberg remix]
2. “Why?” [Goldberg remix]
3. “Run From Love” [Meita remix]
4. “Hard Rain” [Goldberg remix]
5. “Smalltown Boy” [Goldberg remix]
6. “Junk” [Goldberg remix]
7. “I Feel Love” [Fruit Mix] *
8. “Hard Rain” [demo] *
9. “Screaming” [demo] *
10. “Signs (And Wonders)” *
11. “The Potato Fields” *
12. “Run From Love” [radio version] *
13. “Puit D’Amour” *
14. “Close To The Edge” *
15. “Cadillac Car” *
* Bonus tracks


Tracklist: Communards, Communards

CD 1: Communards + More
1. “Don’t Leave Me This Way”
2. “La Dolarosa”
3. “Disenchanted”
4. “Reprise”
5. “So Cold The Night”
6. “You Are My World”
7. “Lover Man”
8. “Don’t Slip Away”
9. “Heavens Above”
10. “Forbidden Love”
11. “Breadline Britain”
12. “Disenchanted (Dance)”
13. “Judgement Day” *
14. “Don’t Leave Me This Way” [Son Of Gotham City Mix 1986] [Part 1] (incorporates Sanctified) *
15. “When The Walls Come Tumbling Down” [live] *
* Bonus tracks

CD 2: Bonus Tracks
1. “You Are My World” [’87 Single Version]
2. “Don’t Leave Me This Way” [Son Of Gotham City Mix] [Part 3]
3. “So Cold The Night” [Remixed Club Version]
4. “Heavens Above” [10” version]
5. “Johnny Verso”
6. “Sentimental Journey”
7. “The Message”
8. “Disenchanted” [instrumental]
9. “So Cold The Night” [instrumental]
10. “Never No More”
11. “Sanctified”
12. “When The Walls Come Tumbling Down”
13. “The Multimix” (inc. Don’t Leave Me, So Cold The Night, Disenchanted)
14. “Annie”


Tracklist: Communards, Red

CD 1: Red + More
1. “Tomorrow”
2. “T.M.T. Love T.B.M.G.”
3. “Matter Of Opinion ”
4. “Victims”
5. “For A Friend”
6. “Never Can Say Goodbye”
7. “Lovers And Friends”
8. “Hold On Tight”
9. “If I Could Tell You”
10. “C Minor”
11. “For A Friend” [unplugged] *
12. “Never Can Say Goodbye” [San Paulo Mix] *
13. “Romanze For Violin, Piano & Hedgehog” *
14. “There’s More To Love” [Jalapeno Mix] *
15. “Tomorrow” [extended 12” version] *
16. “Zing Went The Strings Of My Heart” *
* Bonus tracks

CD 2: Bonus Tracks
1. “Never Can Say Goodbye” [Shep Pettibone Extended Mix]
2. “When The Boy In Your Heart Is The Boy In You Arms”
3. “I Just Want To Let You Know”
4. “Scat”
5. “Piece Of Saxophone”
6. “Never Can Say Goodbye” [San Paulo Dub Mix]
7. “For A Friend” [remix]
8. “Victims”
9. “Don’t Leave Me This Way”
10. “Heavens Above”
11. “You Are My World”
12. “So Cold The Night”
13. “For A Friend”
14. “Never Can Say Goodbye”
15. “Hold On Tight”
16. “Spanish Rap (El Amor No Es Solo Un Hombre Y Una Mujer)” (Bonus Track)
17. “Never Can Say Goodbye” [Instrumental Mix] (Bonus Track)




  1. …Curious as to why some of the Communards’ tracks are repeated on either the bonus disc or the “other” album without any indication of them being remixes/alternate mixes?

    Regardless, the news of these re-releases with the included bonus material is exciting. I can’t wait to hear the b-sides. Listening to the Communards reminds me of when I was in my first real relationship, enjoying the music with my significant other and having the lyrics mean so very much…

  2. Yessss…….

  3. Exciting to see these.

    Seems there are some tracks missing.

    The ’96 Age of Consent reissue had ‘Memories’ which I don’t see.

    Also, where is the Never Can Say Goodbye b-side, ”77 The Great Escape’ and what about the extended ’87 version of ‘You Are My World’?

    Nice to see the For A Friend 3×12″ live tracks.

  4. Speaking of missing tracks, it’s a shame “Hit That Perfect Beat” couldn’t have found its way onto one of those discs.

  5. rick grubbs

    this is great news! I’ll probably start with Red since that was the first Jimmy Somerville-related album I bought.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *