New Releases — June 11, 2012 at 5:58 am

New releases: The dB’s, Bodeans, Men Without Hats, Skinny Puppy, Sugar

Record Rack: A round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs.


ARTIST : The dB’s
RELEASE: Falling Off the Sky
The jangle-pop heroes this week release their first album in 25 years and first to feature the band’s original lineup — Peter HolsappleGene HolderWill Rigby and Chris Stamey — in 30 years. The 12-song record is produced by the band with assistance from Scott Litt and Mitch Easter.
BUY: (CD, digital, vinyl)


ARTIST : Bodeans
 American Made
The veteran Americana act returns this week with its second new album in less than a year, a 12-track collection that includes a cover of Bruce Springsteen’s “I’m On Fire” plus 11 originals, including “All Around the World,” “Jay Leno,” “American” and “Everything You Wanted” (stream the full album here).
BUY: (CD, digital)


ARTIST : Men Without Hats
RELEASE: Love in the Age of War
 The reactivated Canadian New Wave stars release their first album in nine years in the U.S. this week digitally (the CD arrives next week). Frontman Ivan Doroschuk produced the album with former Skinny Puppy member Dave “Rave” Ogilvie, and it includes the first single “Head Above Water,” which you can stream here.
BUY: (Digital)


ARTIST : Skinny Puppy
RELEASE: Bootlegged, Broke and In Solvent Seas
BACKSTORY:  The electro-industrial legends this week release a new 10-track live album recorded in Warsaw, Poland; Bratislava, Slovakia; Hildesheim, Germany; and Budapest, Hungary, that captures the band — still centered around Nivek Ogre and cEvin Key — recorded straight from the soundboard (stream “Dogshit” here).
BUY: (CD, digital)


ARTIST : Sugar
RELEASE: File Under: Easy Listening
BACKSTORYDemon Music Group  this week, in the U.K., releases the third of three reissues coming from Bob Mould’s acclaimed post-Hüsker Dü trio, a CD/DVD expanded edition of the band’s second studio album. In the U.S., the Sugar reissues come in July with less bonus material (see tracklist here).



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *