Album News, Digital Music, Tracklist — June 21, 2012 at 7:37 am

The Fixx to release ‘Beautiful Friction’ next month — stream first single ‘Anyone Else’

New Wave rockers The Fixx return next month with Beautiful Friction, the band’s first album in nearly a decade and the first featuring the group’s classic mid-’80s — singer Cy Curnin, keyboard player Rupert Greenall, guitarist Jamie West-Oram, drummer Adam Woods and bassist Dan K. Brown — lineup since 1991’s Ink.

The 11-track album is due out July17 on Kirtland Records, and is preceded by the single “Anyone Else,” which you can stream below. The album is The Fixx’s first since 2003’s Want That Life.

The band features Brown — who first began playing with The Fixx during the Reach the Beach sessions — back in the lineup for the first time since the early ’90s, and played a short run of mostly East Coat dates earlier this month. Currently, the group has four shows — all free gigs — on the books for August, and a promise of more dates to come.



Tracklist: The Fixx, Beautiful Friction

1. “Anyone Else”
2. “Just Before Dawn”
3. “Take A Risk”
4. “Beautiful Friction”
5. “What God?”
6. “Second Time Around”
7. “Follow That Cab”
8. “Shaman”
9. “Something Ahead Of You”
10. “Girl With No Ceiling”
11. “Small Thoughts”


The Fixx tour dates:

Aug. 9: Drake Park Mainstage, Bend, OR
Aug. 12: Mayo Park, Rochester, MN
Aug. 17: Santa Cruz Boardwalk, Santa Cruz, CA
Aug. 25: Backlot Bash, Skokie, IL




  1. Alex Ezell

    Curnin’s voice sometimes reminds me of Bill Mallonee of Vigilantes of Love. This single is good. I’m digging the sound.

  2. Robert huttinger

    Come to the State Theater in Falls Church VA!!!!!

  3. The Fixx are highly underrated. Great song, a nice return to form. People forget how big they were in the 80’s. I remember they came to my city and out sold U2 in 1985!

  4. Yee haw! Come to FOXWOODS, CT! We’re waiting. You guys make freakin’ music!

  5. We saw these guys a couple of weeks ago in New Jersey and I couldn’t believe how hard they (still) rock. Cy Curnin’s voice, incredibly, just gets better with age. How is that possible? All the new tunes they played, including this one, sounded AWESOME. Seriously, if you ever get the chance to see these cats and you’re on the fence about it, I recommend you fall on the side of the fence THEY’RE on. :)

  6. Great single. Can’t wait for the album.

  7. Always been a fan of The Fixx but they really outdid themselves on this new CD. The range and depth of the songs is amazing. There are no standout songs because they are all really great. It’s so hard to choose a favorite. They are really good at coming up with songs that sound like no other band could do them.

  8. By far their best since Calm Animals. Incredible stuff. Literally back with a vengeance!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *