Album News, Tracklist — July 24, 2012 at 7:36 am

American Music Club’s Mark Eitzel to release ‘Don’t Be a Stranger’ in October

After suffering a heart attack last year and seeing the “implosion” of the American Music Club reunion after two mid-to-late 2000s albums, former frontman Mark Eitzel this fall will release a brand-new solo album called Don’t Be a Stranger that his label, Merge Records, is pitching as his “finest solo album in over a decade.”

The 11-track album is due out on Sept. 24 on Decor Records in Europe and Oct. 2 on Merge in the U.S. and is produced by Sheldon Gomberg (Rickie Lee Jones, Ron Sexsmith, Ben Harper).

Eitzel will follow the release with a tour of the U.S. in late 2012 and Europe in early 2013, according to Merge, with his band Mark Eitzel’s Warm Gentle Rain, featuring  Kristin Sobditch (Little Fuzzy), Marc Capelle (American Music Club), Jon Langmead (Loquat), and Pete Straus (Dwarves).  According to the label, the touring band “will consist of piano, bass and drums in the classic lounge style, but he also plans to ‘bring the chaos’ in the form of his electric guitar.”

Dates have not yet been announced


Tracklist: Mark Eitzel, Don’t Be a Stranger

1. “I Love You But You’re Dead”
2. “The Bill Is Due”
3. “All My Love”
4. “Oh Mercy”
5. “Costume Characters Face Dangers In The Workplace”
6. “Why Are You With Me”
7. “Lament For Bobo The Clown”
8. “Break The Champagne”
9. “We All Have To Find Our Own Way Out”
10. “You’re Waiting”
11. “Nowhere To Run”



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *