Anniversary, Reissues — August 4, 2012 at 5:00 pm

R.E.M.’s ‘Document’ 25th anniversary reissue to include unreleased 1987 concert

The break-up of R.E.M. won’t stop the release of new product from the beloved college-rock vets, and the next title in line is a 25th anniversary reissue of the band’s fifth album, Document, which is expected to be formally announced next week and appears likely to be released as soon as mid-September.

R.E.M. on Friday night teased the release on its website (“Details and special features on the Document anniversary re-issue coming here next week!”), and multiple online retailers in Europe and Japan — including Germany’s — show a new 2CD anniversary edition of Document set for release on Sept. 10.

None of those listings include a tracklist, so it’s not yet known what will appear on the second disc. The reissues of Murmur and Reckoning each included a bonus live disc, while for Fables of the Reconstruction and Lifes Rich Pageant, the bonus disc was comprised of studio demos instead.

Separately from the deluxe 2CD reissue, there’s also a Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab 180-gram audiophile vinyl reissue of Document on the way; although that title doesn’t yet appear on MoFi’s website, the record is listed for a Sept. 25 release on

UPDATE 8/5/12: is now listing the Document reissue for a Sept. 25 release, and shows the 2CD set will feature a digitally remastered edition of the album, plus “a previously unreleased 1987 concert from R.E.M.’s Work Tour,” all packaged in a “lift-top box” with four postcards. Based on the tracklist, shown below, fans on the board have suggested the live disc is the widely bootlegged Sept. 14, 1987, concert in Utrecht, Holland — minus the four cover songs played that night (“Superman,” “Strange,” “Funtime” and “Harpers”).

UPDATE: 8/7/12: R.E.M. officially announced the reissue today, confirming the bonus disc as featuring the concert recorded in Utrecht.


Tracklist: R.E.M., Document: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

CD 1: Original album
1. “Finest Worksong”
2. “Welcome To The Occupation”
3. “Exhuming McCarthy”
4. “Disturbance At The Heron House”
5. “Strange”
6. “Its The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)”
7. “The One I Love”
8. “Fireplace”
9. “Lightnin’ Hopkins”
10. “King Of Birds”
11. “Oddfellows Local 151”

CD 2: Previously unreleased 1987 concert
1. “Finest Worksong”
2. “These Days”
3. “Lightnin Hopkins”
4. “Welcome To The Occupation”
5. “Driver 8”
6. “Feeling Gravitys Pull”
7. “I Believe”
8. “The One I Love”
9. “Exhuming McCarthy”
10. “Wolves, Lower”
11. “Fall On Me”
12. “Just A Touch”
13. “Oddfellows Local 151”
14. “Little America”
15. “Its the End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)”
16. “Begin The Begin”
17. “Disturbance At The Heron House”
18. “Moral Kiosk”
19. “Life And How To Live It”
20. “So. Central Rain”







  1. Great, another live concert filler that costs the label nothing but allows them to charge an extra $15 or $20 for the set. Complete rip off.

  2. Like this album but I’ll wait to find this is the used shops. Agree, these are pretty pricey even though it is nicely packaged unlike the miserable MBV reissues. :)

  3. Well, I for one am excited. My bootleg of the Utrecht show has some digital noise in at least one of the songs, so hopefully this will prove to be higher quality. It was a good show! And correct me if I’m wrong, but wasn’t this the last tour they did as a foursome, without addl. musicians onstage?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *