New Releases — November 26, 2012 at 1:00 am

New releases: House of Love, Robin Guthrie, Douglas McCarthy, X-TG, Blow Monkeys, more

Record Rack: A round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs.


ARTIST : The House of Love
RELEASE: The House of Love: Deluxe Edition
BACKSTORY: The House of Love’s self-titled debut album on Creation Records is reissued this week, in the U.K., by Cherry Red Records in an expanded 3CD set, with the original 10-track album supplemented by 40 bonus tracks, including non-album singles, B-sides and 19 previously unreleased demos (see full tracklist).
BUY: (CD, digital)


ARTIST : Robin Guthrie
RELEASE: Fortune
BACKSTORY: Cocteau Twins guitarist and co-founder Robin Guthrie returns with a new solo album this week, a 10-track effort pitched as “a beautiful expression of all that life’s twists and turns of fortune can bring to our lives.” Songs include “Circus Circus,” “Like Water in Water,” “Lavona’s Life” and “Kings Will Be Falling.”
BUY: (CD, vinyl, digital)


ARTIST : Douglas J. McCarthy
RELEASE: Kill Your Friends
BACKSTORY: Nitzer Ebb frontman Douglas J. McCarthy this week releases his first solo album, a 12-track collection produced by Mark Bell and promoted as being “very much on the dark house music tip.” Tracks include “Love in the Backroom,” “Death is King,” “All Kind of Wrong,” “The Last Time” and “Demon Prophet.”
BUY: (CD, vinyl)


ARTIST : Bryan Ferry Orchestra
RELEASE: The Jazz Age
BACKSTORY: The Roxy Music frontman this week release, in the U.K., a collection of his hits re-recorded with big-band jazz arrangements, including tracks such as “Slave to Love,” “Virginia Plain,” “Avalon,” “Do the Strand,” “Love is the Drug,” “Reason or Rhyme,” “The Bogus Man,” “Don’t Stop the Dance” and more.
BUY: (CD, vinyl, digital)


RELEASE: Desertshore/The Final Report
BACKSTORY: Throbbing Gristle members Chris Carter, Peter ‘Sleazy’ Christopherson and Cosey Fanni Tutti this week release, in the U.K. (it’s out in the U.S. next week), a double album, including the cover of Nico’s 1970 album conceived by Peter ‘Sleazy’ Christopherson before his death last year, and another disc  of new music.


ARTIST : The Blow Monkeys
RELEASE: Limping for a Generation, Animal Magic
BACKSTORY: The first two albums, originally released in 1984 and 1986, from the British sophisti-pop act are reissued as 2CD deluxe editions this week in the U.K. by Cherry Red Records, pairing the original albums with bonus material including B-sides, live tracks, unreleased demos and other session tracks.
BUY: (Limping for a Generation, Animal Magic)


ARTIST : Marc and the Mambas
RELEASE: Three Black Nights of Little Black Bites
BACKSTORY: Cherry Red Records this week reissues, in the U.K., the 1983 concert recording on CD and PAL Region 2 DVD of Marc Almond’s short-lived post-Soft Cell band. The film is mastered and restored from the original VHS tapes by the late Peter “Sleazy” Christopherson of Throbbing Gristle.


ARTIST : Josef K
RELEASE: Sorry for Laughing
BACKSTORY: The initially shelved 1981 debut from Scottish indie-pop outfit Joseph K this week, in the U.K., receives its first-ever vinyl pressing (the album was eventually released in 1990 on the CD version of the band’s official debut, The Only Fun in Town. The remastered vinyl edition includes a 12-track CD of demos.
BUY: (Vinyl)




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *