Album News, Digital Music, Reunions — January 9, 2013 at 8:30 am

‘Year of the Pigbag’: Post-punk/funk act returns with first new album in 30 years

Pigbag, the short-lived U.K. funk-infused post-punk act best known for its jam “Papa’s Got a Brand New Pigbag,” returns this March with Year of the Pigbag, the first new record in three decades from the newly reformulated act. Below, you can check out the horn-fueled track “Disco Mama” from the comeback album.

The genre-straddling band, originally active from 1980 to 1983, reunited in 2011 with a new lineup featuring original members Chris Lee (trumpet), Ollie Moore (saxes) and Kofi Adu (drums) for a one-off show in London. The trio, supplemented by five new members “who shared their vision of fusing African grooves, jazz, Latin, funk and dance beats into a heady new cocktail,” have now recorded their third album.

The nine-track Year of the Pigbag will be released March 25 on Sugar Shack Records. The label calls the record “a nonstop dance party of the highest order with echoes of the JBs, Fela Kuti and Sun Ra’s Arkestra yet entirely different and their own unique creation.”



Tracklist: Pigbag, Year of the Pigbag

1. “Cuban Rice (Is Very Nice)”
2. “Disco Mama”
3. “Out of Chaos”
4. “Tabula Rasa”
5. “Beluga”
6. “Jumpers for Goalposts”
7. “Brains”
8. “Honeydew Lady”
9. “Afrodite on the Horizontal”



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *