New Releases — January 21, 2013 at 12:14 am

New releases: Adam Ant, Camper Van Beethoven, Bad Religion, Jesus and Mary Chain, Pogues

Record Rack: A round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs.


ARTIST : Adam Ant
RELEASE: Adam Ant Is the Blueblack Hussar in Marrying the Gunner’s Daughter
BACKSTORY: The New Wave star returns this week with first new album in 18 years, some kind of pirate-themed concept album with 17 songs including lead single “Cool Zombie,” plus “Cradle Your Hatred,” “Who’s a Goofy Bunny?” and “Hardmentoughblokes” (see full tracklist).
BUY: (CD, digital)


ARTIST : Camper Van Beethoven
RELEASE: La Costa Perdida
BACKSTORY: The classic college-rock combo returns this week with its second post-reunion album, its eighth overall and its first new studio set in more than eight years, a 10-song collection bassist Victor Krummenacher says “has elements of vintage Camper along with grown-up Camper” (see full tracklist).
BUY: (CD, digital)


ARTIST : Bad Religion
RELEASE: True North
BACKSTORY: The Southern California punk legends return this week with their 16th studio album, featuring, quite appropriately, 16 songs, including lead-off single “Fuck You,” as well as “Robin Hood in Reverse,” “Land of Endless Greed,” “My Head is Full of Ghosts,” “Popular Consensus,” “Dharma and the Bomb” and much more.
BUY: (CD, vinyl)


ARTIST : The Jesus and Mary Chain
RELEASE: Barbed Wire Kisses, The Sound of Speed
BACKSTORY: The first two compilations of singles, B-sides and non-album tracks from the brothers Reid, originally released in 1988 and 1993, respectively, are reissued this week in new deluxe vinyl editions. Between the two, they features such cuts as “Sidewalking,” “Upside Down,” “Kill Surf City” and “Snakedriver.”
BUY: (Barbed Wire Kisses, The Sound of Speed)


ARTIST : The Pogues
RELEASE: The Very Best of the Pogues
BACKSTORY: Shout Factory this week delivers what it’s billing as the first-ever Pogues compilation in America, an 18-track collection featuring “Dirty Old Town,” “Boys From the County Hell,” “If I Should Fall From Grace with God,” “Misty Morning, Albert Bridge,” “The Irish Rover” and, of course, “Fairytale of New York.”


ARTIST : The The
RELEASE: Moonbug
BACKSTORY: Released last year via the band’s website, the second film score from Matt Johnson this week receives a wider commercial release in the U.K. The disc features 17 original pieces, and comes packaged with an 80-page hardbound book featuring images from the space-themed documentary (see full tracklist).




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *