Album News, Reunions, Tour Dates — April 10, 2013 at 6:00 am

The Three O’Clock to release new compilation with 10 unreleased tracks, play ‘Conan’

The Three O'Clock

Paisley Underground favorites The Three O’Clock will celebrate their current reunion with a brand-new compilation album this summer — The Hidden World Revealed, featuring 10 previously unreleased tracks — and with a performance on “Conan” tonight ahead of the band’s appearances at the Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival.

The 20-track best-of is due out June 25 on Omnivore Recordings and spans the years 1981 to 1986, featuring better-known songs such as “Jet Fighter” and “With a Cantaloupe Girlfriend” as well as previously unreleased demos and alternate takes, including a home demo of “Jennifer Only” that dates back to the band’s original incarnation as The Salvation Army (see full tracklist below).

In a news release announcing the album, drummer Danny Benair says:

The Hidden World Revealed takes you from the early days of recording in Michael Quercio’s garage to the days leading up to Arrive Without Traveling and beyond. A combination of the well-known and the unknown. The completist guide to The Three O’Clock — ten years in the making 30 plus years of recording. . . whoosh!”

The Three O’Clock— frontman Michael Quercio, Benair, guitarist Louis Gutierrez and The 88’s Adam Merrin sitting in for original keyboardist Mickey Mariano — are reuniting for Coachella and a few other gigs this month, plus an expected “mini-tour” this summer. The band played last Saturday in Pomona, Calif., and has Los Angeles and San Francisco concerts on tap, too (see full dates below).

First, though, the band plays Conan O’Brien’s show on TBS tonight (11 p.m. ET & PT/10 p.m. CT).


Tracklist: The Three O’Clock, The Hidden World Revealed

1. “All In Good Time”
2. “With A Cantaloupe Girlfriend”
3. “In Love In Too”
4. “Stupid Einstein”
5. “Lucifer Sam”
6. “Rodney On The ROQ Commercial” *
7. “Jet Fighter”
8. “When Lightening Starts” (Alternate Version) *
9. “Sound Surrounds” (Demo)*
10. “Around The World”
11. “On My Own” (with Strings) *
12. “I Go Wild” (Alternate Version) *
13. “In My Own Time” (Alternate Version) *
14. “Why Cream Curdles In Orange Tea” *
15. “A Day In Erotica” (Alternate Version) *
16. “Jennifer Only” (Home Demo) * – The Salvation Army
17. “The Girl With The Guitar (Says Oh Yeah)” (Demo) *
18. “Seeing Is Believing”
19. “Regina Caeli”
20. “Feel A Whole Lot Better”

* Previously unreleased


The Three O’Clock tour dates:

April 14: Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival, Indio, CA
April 17: Great American Music Hall, San Francisco, CA
April 21: Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival, Indio, CA
April 24: The Troubadour, Los Angeles, CA






  1. A shame nothing from “Ever After” or “Vermillion” – i guess maybe licensing issues? Or they just don’t like them. Dunno… how can you not like “Neon Telephone”??? :-)

  2. I’m really looking forward to this! The Three O’Clock are one of my favorite 80’s bands.

  3. Chris, I think the songs on the compilation are from their Frontier Records releases. The rest of the catalog was released on IRS or Paisley Park.

  4. Yep, these are tracks prior to the trip to IRSland. Love them to death.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *