Reunions, Setlist — September 15, 2013 at 11:40 pm

The Replacements mix it up (just a bit) with second reunion gig at Chicago’s Riot Fest

Paul Westerberg

Photo via adam_barrett

The Replacements took the stage tonight at Riot Fest in Chicago for the second of at least three planned reunion gigs (“We haven’t played in 3 weeks, but fuck it,” Paul Westerberg told the crowd before launching into “Takin’ a Ride”), and managed to play mostly the same set as their big comeback gig in Toronto last month, but did treat fans to a few different songs.

As you can see from the setlist below — compiled from live reports by @ChrisRstrib and @LocalCurrent — the ‘Mats threw in about three-and-a-half different songs, performing “I Don’t Know,” off Pleased To Meet Me, plus Tim standouts “Hold My Life” and “Waitress in the Sky,” and about half of “Buck Hill,” off Hootenanny, which was dropped into “I Don’t Know.”

The Replacements — in this case, Westerberg and Tommy Stinson, plus former Westerberg sidemen Josh Freese and David Minehan — play the Denver installment of Riot Fest next Saturday.

After that, no other plans have (yet) been announced.

See full setlist below:


Setlist: The Replacements, Riot Fest, Chicago, IL, 9/15/13

1. “Takin’ a Ride”
2. “I’m in Trouble”
3. “My Favorite Thing”
4. “Hangin’ Downtown”
5. “I Don’t Know” > “Buck Hill”
6. “Color Me Impressed”
7. “Tommy Got His Tonsils Out”
8. “Achin’ to Be”
9. “Androgynous”
10. “I Will Dare”
11. “Love You Til Friday” > “Maybelline” (Chuck Berry)
12. “Merry Go Round”
13. “Wake Up”
14. “Borstal Breakout” (Sham 69)
15. “Little Mascara”
16. “Left of the Dial”
17. “Alex Chilton”
18. “Swinging Party”
19. “Kiss Me on the Bus”
20. “Waitress in the Sky”
21. “Can’t Hardly Wait”
22. “Bastards of Young”

23. “Hold My Life”
24. “IOU”





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *