The Flaming Lips

It’s the Black Friday installment of Record Store Day today, and one of the most sought-after titles no doubt will be the long-rumored full-album cover of The Stone Roses’ 1989 debut LP by The Flaming Lips and their friends — a release on multi-color vinyl that’s limited to just 500 copies and isn’t actually an officially sanctioned Record Store Day release.

In fact, Record Store Day’s Facebook page warmed this week that the album — which features Stardeath and the White Dwarfs, Poliça, New Fumes and more — “didn’t come through us” and is “super-duper limited. They were most likely sold out before some stores even knew where to get them. Be nice.”

The Lips themselves don’t appear to have ever formally announced the release on their website, but The Future Heart has carefully tracked the genesis of the album, which is credited to The Flaming Lips and Friends and is titled The Time Has Come to Shoot You Down… What a Sound. Each vinyl copy of the album is reportedly a unique, one-of-a-kind design.

If this release is anything like the Lips and Friends’ previous full-album cover of Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon, a future release on both CD and as a digital download is likely.

Below, check out the full tracklist and stream New Fumes’ cover of “I Am the Resurrection.”

And for full information on Record Store Day’s Black Friday event, visit


New Fumes, “I Am the Resurrection” (The Stone Roses)


Tracklist: The Flaming Lips and Friends, The Time Has Come To Shoot You Down… What a Sound

Side A
1. “I Wanna Be Adored” – HOTT MT – Stardeath and White Dwarfs
2. “She Bangs the Drums” – The Flaming Lips, Poliça, New Fumes
3. “Waterfall” – Blobs Descending From Heaven – HOTT MT – Stardeath
4. “Don’t Stop” – Stardeath and White Dwarfs
5. “Bye Bye Badman” – New Fumes – Def Rain
6. “Elizabeth My Dear” – New Fumes – The Flaming Lips

Side B
7. “(Song for My) Sugar Spun Sister” – HOTT MT
8. “Made of Stone” – Stardeath and White Dwarfs – The Flaming Lips
9. “Shoot You Down” – Peaking Lights
10. “This Is the One” – Jonathan Rado (Foxygen) – The Flaming Lips
11. “I Am the Resurrection” – New Fumes
12. “Fools Gold” – SpaceFace




Tags: , ,