Album News, Digital Music, Tracklist — February 24, 2014 at 10:45 am

James announces new album ‘La Petite Mort,’ streams new song ‘Frozen Britain’


Manchester-bred rockers James today announced they’ll release their next album — La Petite Mort, the first taste of which, “Frozen Britain,” you can stream below — this June, a record that bassist Jim Glennie says “stretched us and the songs and pushed us to new heights in craftsmanship and intensity.”

The 10-song album is due out June 2, but can be pre-ordered now via the band. All pre-orders will include a free download of “Frozen Britain,” which is not actually the record’s first single. That distinction falls to “Moving On,” which is due out April 28.

The new record is the band’s first since its 2010 mini-albums The Night Before and The Morning After.

On the band’s website, Glennie writes:

Hello there everybody in ‘James’ land, Jim here. The very pleasurable duty of writing this introduction has fallen on my weary but capable shoulders. Like a tired but excited father announcing the birth of his thirteenth child, “The next James album is finished”. “Yes, I can’t believe it either”.

It has sprung from writing sessions in Athens, Lisbon, the Scottish Highlands and the tropical paradise of Ancoats. We have had a long, sometimes toughicult [sic] but exciting journey, and it’s been oh so very fruitful and rewarding.

‘La Petite Mort’ is an album that has stretched us and the songs and pushed us to new heights in craftsmanship and intensity, ably captured by producer Maximilian Dingel.

I know you won’t be getting the album till June, but with the pre-order is a free download of the first radio track off the album — ‘Frozen Britain’ — and I hope you enjoy it.

James will be playing gigs and festival throughout the year, so keep an eye on for info. We will of course be playing lots of songs off the new record.

There is also probably an arena tour in the pipeline but I don’t think I’m supposed to mention that, so I must remember to delete that bit before I send this.

Anyway, a good year ahead for all of us, and hopefully for your good selves too.

Best wishes, Jim Glennie.


Below, check out the new album’s tracklist and stream “Frozen Britain.”



Tracklist: James, La Petite Mort

1. “Walk Like You”
2. “Curse Curse”
3. “Moving On”
4. “Gone Baby Gone”
5. “Frozen Britain”
6. “Interrogation”
7. “Bitter Virtue”
8. “All In My Mind”
9. “Quicken the Dead”
10. “All I’m Saying”






  1. Love James…Ancoats truly is a tropical paradise by the way…palm trees, beaches pina colladas – its got the lot.

  2. Welcome!! I love Tim’s voice.

  3. alan hunter

    The highlands are sure to inspire. Get back up here soon please. Waiting with baited breath for the new material. Huge fan.

  4. Nice Nice Nice Guru

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *