Reissues, Tracklist — March 13, 2014 at 7:58 am

Deluxe reissue of legendary C86 cassette to feature 72 tracks across 3 CDs


Cherry Red Records this week revealed the final tracklist for its deluxe-edition reissue of the NME’s legendary C86 cassette, which finds the original 22-song indie-pop compilation now expanded into a 3CD set — up from a planned two-disc collection — that will feature 72 total tracks, including many never-before-available on CD and four that are previously unreleased.

The collection is due out June 9 and will be housed in a clamshell-style hinged box, with what the label describes as a “chunky” booklet featuring an 11,500-word set of sleevenotes by Neil Taylor, one of three writers at the U.K. music weekly who compiled the original tape.

The first disc of the expanded C86 features the original 22-song running order of the cassette, which was available from the NME via mail order in summer 1986 and released the following year on vinyl by Rough Trade Records. The cassette itself was a follow-up to the NME’s original C81 collection of New Wave acts.

The C86 tape included acts that were or would go on to be relatively well-known (Primal Scream, The Wedding Present, The Soup Dragons, The Mighty Lemon Drops), as well as some now-forgotten bands (Miaow, Stump, Bogshed). Many of them, including Close Lobsters, Mighty Mighty and The Shop Assistants, were celebrated on last year’s Scared To Get Happy box set.

Among the acts featured on the second and third discs: The Jesus and Mary Chain, Happy Mondays, The Jasmine Minks, Pop Will East Itself, Biff Bang Pow!, Blue Aeroplanes and more.

See full tracklist below:


Tracklist: Various Artists, C86: Deluxe Edition

CD1: Original album
1. Primal Scream, “Velocity Girl”
2. The Mighty Lemon Drops, “Happy Head”
3. The Soup Dragons, “Pleasantly Surprised”
4. The Wolfhounds, “Feeling So Strange Again” *
5. The Bodines, “Therese”
6. Mighty Mighty, “Law”
7. Stump, “Buffalo” *
8. Bogshed, “Run To The Temple” *
9. A Witness, “Sharpened Sticks”
10. The Pastels, “Breaking Lines” *
11. Age Of Chance, “From Now On, This Will Be Your God” *
12. Shop Assistants, “It’s Up To You” *
13. Close Lobsters, “Firestation Towers” *
14. Miaow, “Sport Most Royal”
15. Half Man Half Biscuit, “I Hate Nerys Hughes (from The Heart)”
16. The Servants, “Transparent”
17. Mackenzies, “Big Jim (there’s No Pubs In Heaven)” *
18. Big Flame, “New Way (quick Wash And Brush Up With Liberation Theology)” *
19. We’ve Got A Fuzzbox And We’re Gonna Use It, “Console Me” *
20. Mccarthy, “Celestial City” *
21. The Shrubs, “Bullfighter’s Bones” *
22. The Wedding Present, “This Boy Can Wait (a Bit Longer!)”

1. The June Brides, “Just The Same”
2. Yeah Yeah Noh, “Another Side To Mrs Quill”
3. The Primitives, “Lazy”
4. Jesse Garon & The Desperadoes, “Splashing Along”
5. The Band Of Holy Joy, “Rosemary Smith”
6. The Mctells, “Virginia M.C.” *
7. B.m.x. Bandits, “E102”
8. One Thousand Violins, “Like One Thousand Violins”
9. The Dentists, “Peppermint Dreams”
10. The Membranes, “Everything’s Brilliant”
11. The Weather Prophets, “Worm In My Brain”
12. The Brilliant Corners, “Meet Me On Tuesdays””
13. Talulah Gosh, “I Told You So
14. Pigbros, “Hedonist Hat”
15. 14 Iced Bears, “Inside”
16. St. Christopher, “Go Ahead, Cry” *
17. The Groove Farm, “Captain Fantastic” (Demo)
18. Kilgore Trout, ” The Peacock Nose” *
19. The Jesus And Mary Chain, “Inside Me”
20. The Hit Parade, “You Didn’t Love Me Then”
21. That Petrol Emotion, “Mine”
22. The Turncoats, “One Breath” *
23. A Riot Of Colour, “Skink” (Flexi Version) *
24. Paul Groovy & The Pop Art Experience, “Tune In, Turn On, Trip Out” **
25. The Railway Children, “Darkness And Colour”

1. The Chesterf!elds, “Sweet Revenge”
2. The Jasmine Minks, “World’s No Place”
3. Stitched-Back Foot Airman, “Why” *
4. Razorcuts, “Sad Kaleidoscope”
5. Treebound, “Story I Remember” *
6. The Nightingales, “Part Time Moral England”
7. Episode Four, “Strike Up Matches”
8. The Avons, “Everything’s Going Right” *
9. Meat Whiplash, “Here It Comes”
10. King Of The Slums, “Spider Psychiatry” *
11. Happy Mondays, “Freaky Dancin’”
12. Biff Bang Pow!, ” Love’s Going Out Of Fashion”
13. Blue Aeroplanes, “Tolerance” (Remix)
14. Lawrence & The Comfortable Society, “Heartache” *
15. Laugh, “Take Your Time, Yeah” (Flexi Version) *
16. North Of Cornwallis, “Billy Liar” **
17. Pop Will Eat Itself, “Mesmerized”
18. Benny Profane, ” Hang Fire” *
19. Go! Service, “Real Life”
20. Janitors, “Good To Be The King” *
21. The Claim, “Gullible’s Travels”
22. The Auctioneers, “Scoop” **
23. Noseflutes, “Perfect Cockney Hard-on” *
24. The Love Act, “Hep Clothes **
25. The Enormous Room, “I Don’t Need You” *

* New To CD (Or Cherry Red thinks so, anyway)
** Previously unreleased






  1. Tom Westphal

    Is there any information on when and where this will be available in the US?

  2. Some great tracks here although I don’t think I could listen to a full cd in 1 go. Its characterised as being twee and fey but there is some pretty abrasive stuff mixed in such as Bogshed, Big Flame, A Witness etc.
    Some top tunes from the Greater Manchester area: Bodines, Big Flame, Happy Mondays, King of the Slums, Railway children too.

  3. what’s a cd? call me when there’s a vinyl issue.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *