Peter Buck

Former R.E.M. guitarist Peter Buck’s commitment to making new music — and releasing it on vinyl — continues this fall when he follows up his recently released second solo album with a brand-new four-track 7-inch EP titled Opium Drivel. 

The 33 rpm EP will be released Oct. 21 on Buck’s usual label, Mississippi Records, according to label/distributor City Hall Records, which is currently taking pre-orders for the title.

According to its product description, the EP — with its The Cramps-inspired cover art — features two new songs on Side A: “Portrait of a Sorry Man,” in which “Peter asks for forgiveness of all his sins,” and a “classic rock thumper” called “If This Is Love Give Me My Money Back.” The B-side features two stripped-down demos performed by Buck and regular sideman Scott McCaughey.

The EP follows the February release of I Am Back To Blow Your Mind Once Again.






Tags: , , , ,