Album News, Digital Music, Tour Dates — February 13, 2017 at 8:55 pm

Wire marks 40th anniversary with new album ‘Silver/Lead’ — hear ‘Short Elevated Period’

Legendary post-punk act Wire will open its 40th anniversary celebrations this year with the release of the band’s 15th studio album, Silver/Lead, which is preceded by the single “Short Elevated Period” — and you can stream that track below.

The 10-track album, the band’s follow-up to 2016’s Nocturnal Koreans and its seventh record since reuniting in the early 2000s, is due out on the in-house label Pink Flag on March 31, which the group says is the 40th anniversary of Wire’s debut live performance.

Wire’s current lineup features original members Colin Newman, Graham Lewis and Robert Grey, plus guitarist Matthew Simms, who joined a few years after the departure of Bruce Gilbert.

The band also has announced plans to hold a Los Angeles edition of its ongoing DRILL festival March 30 through April 2 that will find Wire joined by Bob Mould, Julia Holter, Mild High Club, Laetitia Sadler and more, plus FITTED, featuring Lewis, Simms, Bob Lee and Mike Watt.

Wire also will play warm-up dates in Phoenix and San Diego.

See full dates, listen to “Short Elevated Period” and check out the album’s tracklist below.



Tracklist: Wire, Silver/Lead

1. “Playing Harp For The Fishes”
2. “Short Elevated Period”
3. “Diamonds in Cups”
4. “Forever & A Day”
5. “An Alibi”
6. “Sonic Lens”
7. “This Time”
8. “Brio”
9. “Sleep On The Wing”
10. “Silver/Lead”


Wire tour dates:

March 28: Crescent Ballroom, Phoenix, AZ
March 29: The Casbah, San Diego, CA
March 30-April 2: DRILL:LA, Echo & Echoplex, Los Angeles, CA





  1. Douglas McConnell

    Sounds fucking awesome!

  2. I liked their new stuff up to the “Wire” album, which I thought was kind of bad…never heard NK, what did other people think?

  3. LOVE IT. Have been Loving WIRE for a LONG TIME, the new stuff is just as Exciting and Genius as ever.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *