Box Sets, Tracklist — February 15, 2017 at 7:31 am

Lloyd Cole collects first 4 solo albums, ‘lost’ 5th LP, unreleased demos in new box set

Lloyd Cole will follow up his 2015 box set collecting his work with The Commotions with a new six-CD package that pulls together his first four solo albums, a “lost” fifth solo album that assembles material from other sources and a disc of 20 previously unreleased demos.

The box set, Lloyd Cole in New York: Collected Recordings 1988-1996, is due out March 17 via Universal Music Group. Cole had been taking pre-orders on his site, but his allotment is sold out for the time being; the box set still can be pre-ordered at

The set includes:

  • “Very gently remastered” editions of Cole’s first four solo albums: 1990’s Lloyd Cole, 1991’s Don’t Get Weird on Me, Babe, 1993’s Bad Vibes and 1995’s Love Story. (“There was nothing wrong with the originals,” Cole writes of the remastering.)
  • A “lost” fifth album called Smile If You Want To that features songs that originally appeared on 2001’s Etc. and his 2000 self-titled outing with The Negatives, a band that also featured Jill Sobule. The mix of “Man on the Verge” that appears on this set is previously unreleased.
  • A sixth disc featuring 20 previously unreleased demos, including, Cole says, “several songs which never quite made it, including my version of Nick Cave’s ‘The Ship Song.'”
  • A book written by John O’Connell.
  • A set of postcards.
  • Photography by Kevin Cummins and Youri Lenquette.

See full tracklist below:



Tracklist: Lloyd Cole, Lloyd Cole in New York: Collected Recordings 1988-1996

CD1: Lloyd Cole
1. “Don’t Look Back”
2. “What Do You Know About Love?”
3. “No Blue Skies”
4. “Loveless”
5. “Sweetheart”
6. “To The Church”
7. “Downtown”
8. “A Long Way Down”
9. “Ice Cream Girl”
10. “Undressed”
11. “I Hate To See You Baby Doing That Stuff”
12. “Waterline”
13. “Mercy Killing”

CD2: Don’t Get Weird on Me, Babe
1. “Butterfly”
2. “There For Her”
3. “Margo’s Waltz”
4. “Half Of Everything”
5. “Man Enough”
6. “What He Doesn’t Know”
7. “Tell Your Sister”
8. “Weeping Wine”
9. “To The Lions”
10. “Pay For It”
11. “The One You Never Had”
12. “She’s a Girl and I’m a Man”

CD3: Bad Vibes 
1. “Morning Is Broken”
2. “So You’d Like To Save The World”
3. “Holier Than Thou”
4. “Love You So What”
5. “Wild Mushrooms
6. My Way To You”
7. “Too Much of a Good Thing”
8. “Fall Together”
9. “Mister Wrong”
10. “Seen The Future”
11. “Can’t Get Arrested”

CD4: Love Story 
1. “Trigger Happy”
2. “Sentimental Fool”
3. “I Didn’t Know You Cared”
4. “Love Ruins Everything”
5. “Baby”
6. “Be There”
7. “Unhappy Song”
8. “Like Lovers Do”
9. “Happy For You”
10. “Traffic”
11. “Let’s Get Lost”
12. “For Crying Out Loud”

CD5: Smile, If You Want To
1. “Old Enough To Know Better
2. “Memphis
3. “Love Like This Can’t Last
4. “No More Love Songs
5. “Man On The Verge” (Previously unreleased mix)
6. “Santa Cruz”
7. “Alright People”
8. “You’re A Big Girl Now”
9. “Another Lover”
10. “39 Down”
11. “Went To Woodstock”
12. “I’m Gone”
Bonus tracks
13. “Fool You Are” (Demo)
14. “Weakness”

CD6: Demos 88-94
(All previously unreleased)
1. “A Long Way Down”
2. “Sweetheart”
3. “Ice Cream Girl”
4. “Wild Orphan”
5. “Loveless”
6. “What Do You Know About Love?”
7. “Know You Too Well”
8. “The Witching Hour”
9. “The English Weather”
10. “I Confess”
11. “To The Lions”
12. “The Ship Song”
13. “Pay For It”
14. “Weeping Wine”
15. “The One You Never Had”
16. “Weird On Me”
17. “Casanova Smith”
18. “Cold Empty Room”
19. “Everyday”
20. “She Loves You”




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *