Album News, Tracklist, Video — March 6, 2017 at 8:56 am

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds to release sprawling new best-of ‘Lovely Creatures’

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds today announced a sprawling new best-of collection that’s “designed to be a way into three decades of music making” and which will be released in multiple formats: a standard 2CD set, a triple LP collection, a deluxe 3CD/1DVD version and a super-deluxe edition that adds a 256-page hardback book.

Due out May 5, Lovely Creatures – The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds 1984-2014 was compiled by Cave and founding member Mick Harvey, with help from the current members of the Bad Seeds. Band members past and present “raided their personal archives” for photos and other memorabilia featured in the book, and provided essays, according to the band’s website.

The project originally was intended to be released in 2014, and, in the interim, the Bad Seeds recorded last year’s Skeleton Tree, which is not represented on the new best-of.

Says Cave of the project:

“There are some people out there who just don’t know where to start with The Bad Seeds. Others know the catalogue better than I do! This release is designed to be a way into three decades of music making. That’s a lot of songs. The songs we have chosen are the ones that have stuck around, for whatever reason. Some songs are those that demand to be played live. Others are lesser songs that are personal favourites of ours. Others are just too big and have too much history to leave out. And there are those that didn’t make it, poor things. They are the ones you must discover by yourselves.”

The editions are available to pre-order via Cave’s web store.

Below, you’ll find full tracklists for the various iterations of Lovely Creatures, and a trailer for the project.



Tracklist: Lovely Creatures 2CD edition

1. “Loverman”
2. “Tupelo”
3. “Deanna”
4. “From Her To Eternity”
5. “The Weeping Song”
6. “Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!”
7. “People Ain’t No Good”
8. “Higgs Boson Blues”
9. “Straight To You”
10. “Where The Wild Roses Grow”

1. “Into My Arms”
2. “Love Letter”
3. “Red Right Hand”
4. “The Mercy Seat”
5. “O Children”
6. “The Ship Song”
7. “Stranger Than Kindness”
8. “Jubilee Street”
9. “Nature Boy”
10. “We No Who U R”
11. “Stagger Lee”


Tracklist: Lovely Creatures 3LP edition

Side A
1. “Loverman”
2. “Tupelo”
3. “Deanna”
4.” From Her To Eternity”

Side B
1. “The Weeping Song”
2. “Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!”
3. “People Ain’t No Good”

Side C
1. “Higgs Boson Blues”
2. “Straight To You”
3. “Where The Wild Rose Grow”

Side D
1. “Into My Arms”
2. “Love Letter”
3. “Red Right Hand”
4. “The Mercy Seat”

Side E
1. “O Children”
2. “The Ship Song”
3. “Stranger Than Kindness”

Side F
1. “Jubilee Street”
2. “Nature Boy”
3. “We No Who U R”
4. “Stagger Lee”


Tracklist: Lovely Creatures Deluxe 3CD/1DVD edition / Super Deluxe with hardcover book

CD1: 1984-1993
1. “From Her To Eternity”
2. “In The Ghetto”
3. “Tupelo”
4. “I’m Gonna Kill That Woman”
5. “The Carny”
6. “Sad Waters”
7. “Stranger Than Kindness”
8. “Scum”
9. “The Mercy Seat”
10. “Deanna”
11. “Up Jumped The Devil”
12. “The Weeping Song”
13. “The Ship Song”
14. “Papa Won’t Leave You, Henry”
15. “Straight To You”

CD2: 1994–2003
1. “Do You Love Me?”
2. “Nobody’s Baby Now”
3. “Loverman”
4. “Red Right Hand”
5. “Stagger Lee”
6. “Where The Wild Roses Grow”
7. “Into My Arms”
8. “People Ain’t No Good”
9. “Brompton Oratory”
10. “(Are You) The One That I’ve Been Waiting For?”
11. “Come Into My Sleep”
12. “Love Letter”
13. “God Is In The House”
14. “He Wants You”
15. “Shoot Me Down”

CD3: 2004–2013
1. “Hiding All Away”
2. “There She Goes, My Beautiful World”
3. “Nature Boy”
4. “Breathless”
5. “Babe, You Turn Me On”
6. “O Children”
7. “Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!”
8. “Night Of The Lotus Eaters”
9. “We Call Upon The Author”
10. “Jesus Of The Moon”
11. “More News From Nowhere”
12. “We No Who U R”
13. “Jubilee Street”
14. “Higgs Boson Blues”
15. “Push The Sky Away”

1. Interview, ‘Kippevel’, Netherlands, 1988
2. Night of the Lotus Eaters, Docks de Suds, Marseilles, France, 2008
3. Red Right Hand, Glastonbury Festival, UK, 1988
4. The Weeping Song, ‘Boxed Set’, Glasgow STV Studios, UK, 2001
5. Interview, New York, USA, 2013
6. Higgs Boson Blues, La Fabrique Studios, France, 2012
7. Interview, ‘Stranger in a Strange Land’ documentary, Berlin, Germany, 1987
8. From Her To Eternity, Perkins Palace, Pasadena, USA, 1984
9. Love Letter, ABC Studios, Australia, 2001
10. Interview, ’Bish’s Biz’, Australia, 2013
11. Do You Love Me?, ‘Boxed Set’, Glasgow STV Studios, UK, 2001
12. Interview, ‘Boxed Set’, Glasgow STV Studios, UK, 2001
13. Into My Arms, INmusic Festival, Zagreb, Croatia, 2008
14. We Call Upon The Author, B1 Maximum Club, Moscow, Russia, 2009
15. Interview, ‘Ein Abend in Wien’, Rotterdam, Netherlands, 1991
16. The Mercy Seat, Bizarre Festival, Germany, 1996
17. Interview, Columbus, Ohio, USA, 1984
18. God Is In The House, ‘Later With Jools Holland’, London, 2001
19. Interview, ’Bish’s Biz’ Australia, 2013
20. Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!, Globe Annexet, Stockholm, Sweden, 2008
21. Brompton Oratory, ‘MTV Live n Loud’, 1997
22. I’m Gonna Kill That Woman, Posthof, Linz, Austria, 1986
23. Jubilee Street, The Fonda Theatre, LA, USA, 2013
24. The Ship Song, ‘Live at Paradiso DVD’, Amsterdam, Netherlands, 1992
25. Interview, Lollapalooza, USA, 1994
26. Loverman, Bizarre Festival, Germany, 1996
27. Interview, Australia, 1988
28. In The Ghetto, Exit, Chicago, USA, 1984
29. Hiding All Away, ‘The Abattoir Blues Tour DVD’, Brixton Academy, London, UK, 2004
30. Interview, Australia, 1992
31. Where the Wild Roses Grow, ‘MTV Most Wanted’, London, UK, 1995
32. Deanna, St Luke’s, London, UK, 2008
33. O Children, Le Trianon, Paris, France, 2013
34. Interview, Festival Crazy Rock, Chile, 1996
35. Stagger Lee, The White Room, London, UK, 1996
36. Interview, ‘Austin City Limits’, Austin, Texas, USA, 2014
37. Interview, Australia, 1995
38. Push The Sky Away, The Fonda Theatre, LA, USA, 2013
39. There She Goes, My Beautiful World, ‘Abattoir Blues Tour DVD’, Brixton Academy, London, 2004




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *