New Releases — March 20, 2017 at 9:14 am

New releases: The Jesus and Mary Chain, Erasure, The Residents, A Flock of Seagulls

Record Rack: A round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs. All releases due out this Friday unless noted.


The Jesus and Mary Chain

RELEASE: Damage and Joy
BACKSTORY: The brothers Reid return this week with their first new album since 1998’s Munki, a 14-song set that was preceded by the singles “Amputation” and “Always Sad,” and was produced by Killing Joke’s Youth.
BUY:,, iTunes



RELEASE: From Moscow to Mars: An Erasure Anthology
BACKSTORY: Last year’s 12CD/1DVD Erasure box set receives a U.S. release this week. The collection includes all 50 of the duo’s singles, plus remixes, live material, rarities and much more.


The Residents

RELEASE: The Ghost of Hope
BACKSTORY: The cult favorites return with what’s being billed as “a historicaly accurate album based on train wrecks.” The seven-song set features “Death Harvest,” “Horrors of the Night” and “The Great Circus Train Wreck of 1918.”
BUY:, iTunes


A Flock of Seagulls

RELEASE: Remixes and Rarities
BACKSTORY: This U.K. release compiles 27 rare remixes and B-sides on two CDs, sourced from 7-inch and 12-inch singles. Includes versions of “Space Age Love Song,” “Never Again (The Dancer,” “Nightmares” and, of course, “I Ran.”


Andy Summers

RELEASE: Triboluminescence
BACKSTORY: The guitarist for the Police returns with a new solo album, out in the U.K. this week, and the U.S. next week. It features nine songs, including “If Anything,” and promises to delve into “deep exotic textures.”




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *