Reissues, Tracklist — June 13, 2017 at 8:09 am

Pet Shop Boys anounce expanded reissues of ‘Nightlife,’ ‘Release’ and ‘Fundamental’

Pet Shop Boys today announced a new reissue series titled “Catalogue: 1985-2012” that will see the duo’s Parlophone studio albums remastesred and reissued in two- and three-CD editions featuring “Further listening” bonus discs with previously unreleased bonus tracks and demos.

First up: Nightlife/Further listening: 1996-2000, Release/Further listening: 2001-2004 and Fundamental/Further listening: 2005-2007, all due out on CD and digitally July 28. The remastered original albums, without the bonus material, also will be released the same day on 180-gram vinyl.

According to the an announcement of the project:

“This definitive edition will feature each album from the duo’s peerless discography on the label, remastered and accompanied by ‘Further listening’ albums of master quality bonus tracks and demos created in the same period of time as each album, as well as Pet Shop Boys own remixes of their tracks. Many tracks are being released for the first time. Each album will be packaged with an extensive booklet in which Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe discuss each song, illustrated with many archive photographs. The entire project is designed by Farrow.”

The reissue series will continue over the next year until all of PSB’s Parlophone albums have been reissued with “Further listening” companion discs; the 2001 reissues of Please, Actually, Introspective, Very and Bilingual — which were released at the time with “Further listening” discs — will be newly remastered and reissued with their original tracklists.

See the tracklists and the group’s notes on the first three titles below:


Nightlife/Further listening: 1996-2000

‘Nightlife’, their darkly orchestrated collaboration with producers Rollo, Craig Armstrong and David Morales, originally released in 1999, is reissued with two ‘Further listening’ CDs, including exclusive, unreleased tracks such as ‘Tall thin men’ and ‘For all of us’ and demo versions of ‘Vampires’, ‘Call me old-fashioned’ and ‘Radiophonic’.

CD 1
1. “For your own good”
2. “Closer to Heaven”
3. “I don’t know what you want but I can’t give it any more”
4. “Happiness is an option”
5. “You only tell me you love me when you’re drunk”
6. “Vampires”
7. “Radiophonic”
8. “The only one”
9. “Boy Strange”
10. “In denial”
11. “New York City boy”
12. “Footsteps”

CD 2
1. “Vampires” (demo) *
2. “For all of us” (demo) *
3. “Call me old-fashioned” (demo) *
4. “Friendly fire”
5. “Believe/Song For Guy” (featuring Elton John) *
6. “Sail Away”
7. “It doesn’t often snow at Christmas” (Fan club mix)
8. “Nightlife”
9. “Playing in the streets” *
10. “Tall thin men” *
11. “Radiophonic” (demo) *

CD 3
1. “Somebody else’s business”
2. “Silver age”
3. “Screaming”
4. “For all of us” **
5. “The ghost of myself”
6. “Casting a shadow”
7. “I don’t know what you want but I can’t give it any more” (The PSB Extension): 8.39
8. “Was it worth it?” (live) **
9. “Lies”
10. “Paris city boy” (Full French) *
11. “Positive role model”
12. “Somebody else’s business” (extended mix) **

* Previously unreleased
** Previously unreleased on CD


Release/Further listening: 2001-2004

Also seeing a remastered reissue will be the album ‘Release’, featuring Johnny Marr
on guitar, which entered the top ten in the UK album charts on its release in 2002. It
also comes with two ‘Further listening’ albums of additional tracks, including
unreleased songs ‘Motoring’, ‘The night is a time to explore who you are’, ‘Run, girl,
run’ and ‘Reunion’, as well as previously-unreleased John Peel versions of ‘A
powerful friend’ and ‘If looks could kill’ and a previously-unreleased cover version of
Gilbert O’Sullivan’s ‘Alone again, naturally’ featuring Elton John.

CD 1
1. “Home and dry”
2. “I get along”
3. “Birthday Boy”
4. “London”
5. “E-mail”
6. “The samurai in autumn”
7. “Love is a catastrophe”
8. “Here”
9. “The night I fell in love”
10. “You choose”

CD 2
1. “Between two islands”
2. “Searching for the face of Jesus”
3. “Time on my hands”
4. “Motoring” (demo) *
5. “Love life” **
6. “Transparent”
7. “Sexy Northerner”
8. “The night is a time to explore who you are” (demo)*
9. “Closer to Heaven” (slow version)
10. “Run, girl, run” (demo) *
11. “I didn’t get where I am today”
12. “Always”
13. “Home and dry” (ambient mix)
14. “Bright young things” (demo) *
15. “Kazak” *
16. “A powerful friend” (John Peel version) *
17. “If looks could kill” (John Peel version) *

CD 3
1. “Try it (I’m in love with a married man)”
2. “Here” (PSB new extended mix)
3. “If looks could kill”
4. “A powerful friend” **
5. “Party song”
6. “No excuse” (demo) *
7. “Blue on blue”
8. “Jack and Jill party” (demo) *
9. “Baby” (demo)
10. “Flamboyant” (original demo)
11. “Miracles”
12. “Flamboyant” (7” mix)
13. “Numb” (demo)
14. “In private” (featuring Elton John)
15. “Alone again, naturally” (featuring Elton John) *
16. “Reunion (Electro mix) *
17. “Bright young things”
18. “We’re the Pet Shop Boys”
19. “It’s a sin” (Barfly version)

* Previously unreleased
** Previously unreleased on CD


Fundamental/Further listening: 2005-2007

The third PSB album to feature in this first batch of reissues is ‘Fundamental’, their
magnificent Trevor Horn-produced album which made the top ten in 2006. As well as
the remastered original album, there’s a 22-track ‘Further listening’ album of
additional material including demos of unreleased songs such as ‘Ring road’, ‘Oneway
street’ and ‘Dancing in the dusk’, alongside previously-unreleased mixes and

CD 1
1. “Psychological”
2. “The Sodom and Gomorrah Show”
3. “I made my excuses and left”
4. “Minimal”
5. “Numb”
6. “God willing”
7. “Luna Park”
8. “I’m with Stupid”
9. “Casanova in Hell”
10. “Twentieth century”
11. “Indefinite leave to remain”
12. “Integral”

CD 2
1. “Fugitive” (Richard X extended mix)
2. “Ring road” (demo) *
3. “The performance of my life” (demo) *
4. “One-way street” (demo) *
5. “Girls don’t cry”
6. “The Resurrectionist”
7. “The Sodom and Gomorrah Show” (original demo) **
8. “Dancing in the dusk” (demo) *
9. “After the event”
10. “The former enfant terrible”
11. “No time for tears” (orchestral mix) *
12. “God willing” (original full-length mix) *
13. “I’m with Stupid” (PSB maxi-mix)
14. “Answer the phone!” (ringtone) **
15. “Where are you?” (ringtone) **
16. “Water” (ringtone) **
17. “Numb” (single edit)
18. “One night”
19. “A certain Je ne sais quoi”
20. “Transfer” (Visionaire mix) *
21. “Integral” (PSB Perfect Immaculate 7” mix) **
22. “Integral” (PSB Perfect Immaculate mix)

* Previously unreleased
** Previously unreleased on CD




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *