Video — October 10, 2017 at 5:22 pm

Watch: Morrissey debuts new songs, covers The Pretenders in 55-minute set for BBC

Last week Morrissey helped the BBC kick off its 6 Music Live week, a series of live-on-the-air performances at the British broadcaster’s Maida Vale studios that also featured Mogwai, alt-J, Loyle Carner and Led Zeppelin frontman Robert Plant.

Moz played an hour-long set that featured the live debuts of a half-dozen songs off his upcoming 11th solo album, Low in High School (one of them, the final song of the performance, didn’t air), as well as a cover of The Pretenders’ classic “Back on the Chain Gang.” The session was Morrissey’s first BBC session since a 2011 visit during which he debuted three songs (“Action Is My Middle Name,” “The Kid’s a Looker” and “People Are the Same Everywhere”) he still hasn’t released.

Low in High School is due out Nov. 17.

Watch Morrissey’s full BBC performance (and see the full setlist) below.



Setlist: Morrissey, Maida Vale Studios, London, UK, 10/2/17

1. “You Have Killed Me”
2. “I Wish You Lonely” *
3. “Spent the Day In Bed” *
4. “Speedway”
5. “Istanbul”
6. “Ganglord”
7. “Jackie’s Only Happy When She’s Up On the Stage” *
8. “Back On the Chain Gang” (The Pretenders)
9. “World Peace is None of Your Business”
10. “The Bullfighter Dies”
11. “When You Open Your Legs” *
12. “Jack The Ripper”
13. “Home is a Question Mark” *

* New songs off ‘Low In High School’ receiving live debut





  1. He looks very lonely…….

  2. That’s an oddly tame audience for Morrissey.

  3. Scott R Stalcup

    When did Mozzer morph into Martin Fry?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *