Box Sets, Tracklist — August 20, 2018 at 6:15 am

Cocteau Twins’ 1993-1996 output compiled on ‘Treasure Hiding: The Fontana Years’ box set

The Cocteau Twins’ latter-period work — spanning the years 1993 to 1996 — will be compiled this fall on a new four-disc, 53-track box set that will include the dreampop icons’ final two albums plus two discs’ worth of B-sides, EP tracks, live radio sessions and rarities.

Treasure Hiding: The Fontana Years, remastered at Abbey Road from the original tapes and approved by co-founder Robin Guthrie, is due out Oct. 12. It can be pre-ordered via Amazon or PledgeMusic.

The set’s first two discs include the studio albums Four-Calendar Café (1993) and Milk & Kisses (1996), while the latter two discs round up songs appearing on the six EPs and singles released during that span, along with radio sessions and a couple rarities. The collection comes in a “sturdy box” with a booklet that includes photos, sleeves notes by Chris Roberts and a discography.

The new collection pulls together the music the Cocteaus — guitarist Guthrie, singer Elizabeth Fraser and bassist Simon Raymonde — recorded for Fontana Records after leaving the 4AD label.

See the full tracklist below.


Tracklist: Cocteau Twins, Treasure Hiding: The Fontana Years

Disc 1: Four-Calendar Café
1. “Know Who You Are at Every Age”
2. “Evangeline”
3. “Bluebeard”
4. “Theft, and Wandering Around Lost”
5. “Oil of Angels”
6. “Squeeze-Wax”
7. “My Truth”
8. “Essence”
9. “Summerhead”
10. “Pur”

Disc 2: Milk & Kisses
1. “Violaine”
2. “Serpentskirt”
3. “Tishbite”
4. “Half-Gifts”
5. “Calfskin Smack”
6. “Rilkean Heart”
7. “Ups”
8. “Eperdu”
9. “Treasure Hiding”
10. “Seekers Who Are Lovers”

Disc 3: EPs and B-Sides
1. “Mud and Dark” (Evangeline EP)
2. “Summer-blink” (Evangeline EP)
3. “Winter Wonderland” (Snow EP)
4. “Frosty the Snowman” (Snow EP)
5. “Three Swept” (Bluebeard single)
6. “Ice-Pulse” (Bluebeard single)
7. “Bluebeard (Acoustic Version)” (Bluebeard single)
8. “Rilkean Heart” (Twinlights EP)
9. “Golden-Vein” (Twinlights EP)
10. “Pink Orange Red” (Twinlights EP)
11. “Half-Gifts” (Twinlights EP)
12. “Feet Like Fins” (Otherness EP)
13. “Seekers Who Are Lovers” (Otherness EP)
14. “Violaine” (Otherness EP)
15. “Cherry Coloured Funk (Seefeel Remix)” (Otherness EP)
16. “Tishbite” (Tishbite single)
17. “Primitive Heart” (Tishbite single)
18. “Flock of Soul” (Tishbite single)
19. “Round” (Tishbite single)
20. “An Elan” (Tishbite single)

Disc 4: B-Sides, Radio Sessions and Rarities
1. “Smile” (Violaine single)
2. “Tranquil Eye” (Violaine single)
3. “Circling Girl” (Violaine single)
4. “Alice” (Violaine single)
5. “Circling Girl” (Volume Track)
6. “Touch Upon Touch” (Volume Track)
7. “Serpentskirt” (Mark Radcliffe Session, 12 March 1996)
8. “Golden-Vein” (Mark Radcliffe Session, 12 March 1996)
9. “Half-Gifts” (Mark Radcliffe Session, 12 March 1996)
10. “Seekers Who Are Lovers” (Mark Radcliffe Session, 12 March 1996)
11. “Calfskin Smack” (Robert Elms Session, 10 April 1996)
12. “Fifty-Fifty Clown” (Robert Elms Session, 10 April 1996)
13. “Violaine” (Robert Elms Session, 10 April 1996)





  1. HELL YES.

  2. Also: Very cool that this includes the AMAZING song “Touch Upon Touch.” Previously only available on a couple of obscure compilations (Volumes, Splashed with Many a Speck), but never as an actual Cocteaus release. Anyone who didn’t stumble on it back in the day will be very happy indeed as they spin it the first time.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *