Album News, Box Sets — August 20, 2018 at 6:00 am

‘50,000 Fall Fans Can’t Be Wrong’ expanded into The Fall’s new ‘58 Golden Greats’ box set

Cherry Red Records this fall will update The Fall’s 2004 compilation 50,000 Fall Fans Can’t Be Wrong by expanding it to 58 tracks across three discs, bringing it up to date with the inclusion of music up to and including the title track from the late Mark E. Smith’s final album.

The new set, due out Nov. 30, is titled 58 Golden Greats, losing both the original release’s Elvis Presley inspired title and artwork (the 2004 compilation was subtitled “39 Golden Greats,” while the forthcoming expansion bears the subtitle “58 Original Tracks – Including All the Hits”).

The new compilation features most, but not all, of the tracks on the out-of-print 50,000 Fall Fans Can’t Be Wrong, and some of the additional songs — such as “Rebellious Jukebox,” off 1979 debut album Live at the Witch Trials — aren’t from the band’s later, post-2004 period.

The 58 Golden Greats set is complied and annotated by longtime aficionado Daryl Easlea, and includes a new booklet designed by longtime Fall designer Becky Stewart with track-by-track overviews. The whole collection was mastered by Andy Pearce “from the best sources available,” according to the label.

The upcoming box-set release follows Beggars Arkive’s recent release of the first-ever U.S. vinyl pressing of another classic Fall compilation: 1990’s 458489 A Sides.

See the full tracklist for 58 Golden Greats below.


Tracklist: The Fall, 58 Golden Greats

Disc 1
1. “Repetition”
2. “Rebellious Jukebox”
3. “Industrial Estate”
4. “Rowche Rumble”
5. “Fiery Jack”
6. “How I Wrote ‘Elastic Man'”
7. “Totally Wired”
8. “New Face In Hell”
9. “Prole Art Threat”
10. “Lie Dream Of A Casino Soul”
11. “The Classical”
12. “Hip Priest”
13. “Joker Hysterical Face”
14. “The Man Whose Head Expanded”
15. “Kicker Conspiracy”
16. “Eat Y’self Fitter”
17. “Oh! Brother”
18. “C.R.E.E.P.”

Disc 2
1. “No Bulbs”
2. “Cruiser’s Creek”
3. “Spoilt Victorian Child”
4. “U.S. 80’s-90’s”
5. “Mr Pharmacist”
6. “Living Too Late”
7. “Hey Luciani”
8. “There’s A Ghost In My House”
9. “Hit The North”
10. “Carry Bag Man”
11. “Victoria”
12. “Big New Prinz”
13. “Dead Beat Descendant”
14. “Telephone Thing”
15. “High Tension Line”
16. “Free Range”
17. “Why Are People Grudgeful?”
18. “Lost In Music”
19. “Behind The Counter”
20. “M5”
21. “Feeling Numb”

Disc 3
1. “The Chiselers”
2. “Powder Keg”
3. “Masquerade”
4. “Touch Sensitive”
5. “Dr Buck’s Letter”
6. “Hollow Mind”
7. “Susan Vs Youthclub”
8. “Mountain Energei”
9. “Theme From Sparta FC # 2”
10. “Blindness”
11. “Reformation” (Uncut)
12. “Wolf Kidult Man”
13. “Bury!”
14. “Greenway”
15. “Sir William Wray”
16. “The Remainderer”
17. “Venice With The Girls”
18. “Wise Ol’ Man”
19. “New Facts Emerge”




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *