Album News, Tour Dates, Tracklist — May 18, 2019 at 4:09 pm

New Order to release live album of ‘synth orchestra’ performance — hear ‘Sub-culture’

Photo by Warren Jackson

New Order  this summer will release an 18-song live album recorded during the band’s celebrated five-night run of performances — backed by a 12-piece synthesizer orchestra — at the Manchester International Festival in the summer of 2017.

The absurdly titled (and punctuated) ∑(No,12k,Lg,17Mif) New Order + Liam Gillick: So it goes.. is due out July 12 on Mute Records in triple-vinyl, double-CD and digital editions. The vinyl release will come in a hardback slipcase with a 24-page booklet, and will be pressed on transparent red, green and blue LPs. The CD edition will come in a triple gatefold sleeve with a deluxe booklet. (Full tracklist below.)

You get your first taste of the album via the live version of “Sub-culture” that’s streaming below.

The live set was recorded at the July 13, 2017, show and includes that full show set three bonus tracks from across the residency “to give listeners a full representation of the breadth of material performed.”

The shows, a collaboration with visual artist Liam Gilick, found New Order focusing on lesser-played material, including the band’s live debuts of Joy Division’s “Disorder” and 2001 track “Behind Closed Doors.” The shows also saw the first performance of Power, Corruption & Lies’ “Ultraviolence” since 1984, the first airing of “Shellshock” since 1987, the first performances of “Sub-culture,” “All Day Long” and “Vanishing Point” since the Technique tour in 1989, and the first rendition of “Dream Attack” since 1993.

New Order is on tour this summer in Europe; see those dates below.



∑(No,12k,Lg,17Mif) New Order + Liam Gillick: So it goes..

1. “Times Change”
2. “Who’s Joe”
3. “Dream Attack”
4. “Disorder”
5. “Ultraviolence”
6. “In A Lonely Place”
7. “All Day Long”
8. “Shellshock”
9. “Guilt Is A Useless Emotion”
10. “Sub-culture”
11. “Bizarre Love Triangle”
12. “Vanishing Point”
13. “Plastic”
14. “Your Silent Face”
15. “Decades”
16. “Elegia”
17. “Heart & Soul”
18. “Behind Closed Doors”


New Order tour dates

June 7: Aarhus, Denmark – Northside Festival
June 13: Oslo, Norway – PiPfest
June 16: Athens, Greece – Release Festival
June 30: Werchter, Belgium – Rock Werchter Festival
July 7: Dublin, Ireland – Trinity Summer Sessions
July 12: Lucca, Italy – Summer Festival
July 18: Bristol, England – Harbourside Festival
July 21: Cheshire, England – Bluedot Festival
July 24: Rattvik, Sweden – Dalhalla Festival
July 27: Benidorm, Spain – Low Festival
Aug. 12: Girona, Spain – Cap Roig Festival
Aug. 15: Praia do Taboão, Portugal – Parades de Coura Festival
Aug. 18: Biddinghuizen, Netherlands – Lowlands Festival
Aug. 25: Portsmouth, England – Victorious Festival
Sept. 21: Madrid, Spain – Weekend City Festival
Oct. 3: Prague, Czech Republic – Lucerna Music Hall
Oct. 5: Munich, Germany – Philharmonic Hall
Oct. 7: Berlin, Germany – Tempodrom
Oct. 11: Paris, France – Le Grand Rex
Oct. 14: Brussels, Belgium – Forest National
Oct. 17: Amsterdam, Netherlands – AFAS Live




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *