New Releases — January 20, 2020 at 6:39 am

New releases: Depeche Mode box set, plus Pet Shop Boys, Innocence Mission, Electronic

Depeche Mode, ‘MODE’ box set

This is a round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs. All releases due out this Friday unless noted. May also include some other titles released in recent weeks but not previously featured.


Depeche Mode

BACKSTORY: Depeche Mode this week releases an 18-CD box set that collects all 14 of the band’s albums and include four more discs of B-sides, remixes and rarities, “a comprehensive collection of the band’s work to date.”


Pet Shop Boys

RELEASE: Hotspot
BACKSTORY: The Pet Shop Boys this week release their 14th studio album, a 10-song collection that will includes the recently released dance track “Dreamland” and the single “Burning the Heather.”


The Innocence Mission

RELEASE: See You Tomorrow
BACKSTORY: Beloved indie-folk combo The Innocence Mission, led by Karen and Don Peris, returns this week with their 11th studio album, an 11-song collection, featuring the tracks “The Brothers Williams Said” and “On Your Side.”



RELEASE: Electronic
BACKSTORY: The 1991 debut from the supergroup — New Order’s Bernard Sumner and The Smiths’ Johnny Marr — gets a reissue this week on black and white vinyl, though the white pressing is only available directly from Rhino.





One Comment

  1. I have about half the DM albums in deluxe/reissue formats with many of those B-sides and rarities. I wish this box set was more affordable to justify purchasing.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *