Box Sets, Reissues, Tracklist — January 20, 2020 at 8:00 am

Simple Minds’ 4-disc reissue of ‘Street Fighting Years’ to include unreleased live set

Simple Minds continues its deluxe reissue series this March with an expanded, multi-format re-release of its 1989 studio album Street Fighting Years, including a 4-disc CD box set that includes B-sides and remixes, plua a live album recorded in Verona, Italy.

Due out March 6, Street Fighting Years — remastered at Abbey Road — will also be reissued as a 2LP set with no bonus material and a 2CD set with the original album accompanied by the second disc of the box set, with B-sides, edits and mixes. The box set also includes the previously unreleased live album.

The Trevor Horn-produced Street Fighting Years was Simple Minds’ eighth studio album, and was released four years after the band’s smash Once Upon a Time record. It’s perhaps best known for the tracks “Mandela Day,” “Belfast Child” and “This Is Your Land.”

See the full tracklist below for the 4-disc box set.


Simple Minds, Street Fighting Years: Deluxe Edition

Disc 1: Original Album
1. “Street Fighting Years”
2. “Soul Crying Out”
3. “Wall of Love”
4. “This Is Your Land”
5. “Take A Step Back”
6. “Kick It In”
7. “Let It All Come Down”
8. “Mandela Day”
9. “Belfast Child”
10. “Biko”
11. “When Spirits Rise”

Disc 2: Edits, B-Sides and Remixes
1. “Belfast Child” (Edit)
2. “Mandela Day” (Edit)
3. “This Is Your Land”
4. “Saturday Girl” (B-Side)
5. “Year of The Dragon” (B-Side)
6. “This Is Your Land” (DJ Version)
7. “Kick It In” (Edit)
8. “Waterfront” (’89 Remix)
9. “Big Sleep” (Live)
10. “Kick It In” (Unauthorized Mix)
11. “Sign O’ The Times” (Edit)
12. “Let It All Come Down” (Edit)
13. “Sign O’ The Times” (B-Side)
14. “Jerusalem” (B-Side)
15. “Sign O’ The Times” (C. J. Mackintosh Remix)

Disc 3: Live in Verona
1. “Theme for Great Cities ’90”
2. “When Spirits Rise”
3. “Street Fighting Years”
4. “Mandela Day”
5. “This Is Your Land”
6. “Soul Crying Out”
7. “Waterfront”
8. “Ghost Dancing”
9. “Book of Brilliant Things”
10. “Don’t You (Forget About Me)”

Disc 4: Live in Verona
1. “Gaelic Melody”
2. “Kick It In”
3. “Let It All Come Down”
4. “Belfast Child”
5. “Sun City”
6. “Biko”
7. “Sanctify Yourself”
8. “East at Easter”
9. “Alive and Kicking”





  1. SFY remains one of the most underrated albums of the 80’s. Still a major favorite of mine 30 (gasp!) years later.

    Will this get a domestic US release, or will it be released only in the UK?

  2. Previously unreleased??? Well, on cd – most of the songs were available on vhs/dvd for ages… Plus, it is not even the complete concert.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *