Punk icons X celebrated today’s 40th anniversary of their landmark debut Los Angeles by surprise-releasing Alphabetland, the band’s first album in 27 years and the first recorded by its original lineup — Exene Cervenka, John Doe, Billy Zoom and D.J. Bonebrake — in 35 years.

The 11-song album was released digitally through Bandcamp, and can be streamed in full below.  The band and Fat Possum Records are working on an upcoming physical release, too.

“When your heart is broken you think every song is about that. These songs were written in the last 18 months and it blows my mind how timely they are,” Doe explains in an email to fans. “We all want our family, friends and fans to hear our records as soon as it’s finished. This time we could do that.”

The album is X’s eighth overall, and the band’s first since 1993’s Hey Zeus!, and the first to feature Zoom alongside the rest of the original lineup since 1985’s Ain’t Love Grand.

According to Doe’s email, X went into the studio in November 2018, and put down five songs in two days with producer Rob Schnaph. The band re-recorded an old X song, “Delta 88 Nightmare,” and released that as a 7-inch with “Cyrano de Berer’s Back,” one of the first songs wrote for the band that would become X.

In January of this year, the band went back into the studio with Schnapf and recorded seven more original songs to complete the tracklist for the new album Alphabetland.

You can hear the results right here:






Tags: , , , , , , , ,