Anniversary, Reissues, Vinyl — June 18, 2020 at 5:12 pm

Pixies’ third album ‘Bossanova’ to receive 30th anniversary reissue on red vinyl

The 4AD label this summer will mark the 30th anniversary of the release of the Pixies’ third album, Bossanova, with a new pressing on red vinyl that includes the original 16-page booklet that previously only was included with the original U.K. vinyl release.

The limited-edition vinyl pressing will be released Aug. 7, according to 4AD, just six days shy of the 30th anniversary of the 14-song album’s original release date.

From the label’s product description:

The band continued to work with Gil Norton after collaborating to such success on their platinum-selling second album Doolittle; this time choosing to record in Los Angeles over their native Boston (the track ‘Blown Away’, however, was recorded at the Hansa Tonstudio in Berlin during a European tour in 1989). Their third album in as many years, 1990 was a particularly fertile time for the band with Kim Deal also having success with The Breeders, who released their debut album Pod just a few months prior.

Featuring the singles ‘Allison’ (a tribute to jazz and blues pianist Mose Allison), ‘Dig For Fire’ and ‘Velouria’, plus the first cover to feature on one of their albums ‘Cecilia Ann’ (originally by The Surftones), Bossanova showed a less primal side to the band, with surf and space rock rising to the fore. Lyrically, Black Francis is even more cryptic with a recurring sci-fi theme running throughout, which in turn influenced Vaughan Oliver’s classic planet design for the sleeve.

Below, check out product images of the new Bossanova pressing.



Pixies, Bossanova

A1. “Cecilia Ann”
A2. “Rock Music”
A3. “Velouria”
A4. “Allison”
A5. “Is She Weird”
A6. “Ana”
A7. “All Over The World”

B1. “Dig For Fire”
B2. “Down To The Well”
B3. “The Happening”
B4. “Blown Away”
B5. “Hang Wire”
B6. “Stormy Weather”
B7. “Havalina”





  1. maybe not their best record, but definitely my favorite

  2. ANA <3

  3. So, why is the vinyl red?

  4. Pretty sure this was the fourth album, following Come On Pilgrim, Surfer Rosa, and Doolittle.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *