Album News, Digital Music, Tracklist — February 1, 2021 at 11:05 pm

The Chills announce seventh album ‘Scatterbrain’ — stream new track ‘Monolith’

The Chills | Photo by Alex Lovell-Smith

New Zealand indie-pop legends The Chills will return this spring with their seventh studio album, the 10-track Scatterbrain that is preceded by the recently released track “You’re Immortal” and the brand-single “Monolith” — which you can hear below.

The album will be released by Fire Records on CD and on vinyl in sky blue and deep sea marble pressings on May 14. Bandcamp, though, shows the digital release coming a bit earlier, on April 25.

The new record will be Martin Phillipps and Co.’s first first since 2018’s Snow Bound.

Hear the new song “Monolith” and see the full tracklist below:



The Chills, Scatterbrain

1. “Monolith”
2. “Hourglass”
3. “Destiny”
4. “Caught In My Eye”
5. “You’re Immortal”
6. “Little Alien”
7. “Safe And Sound”
8. “Worlds Within Worlds”
9. “Scatterbrain”
10. “Walls Beyond Abandon”





  1. Neil Carver

    Monolith sounds like they wrote a 14 minute prog-rock piece, then edited it down to only the refrain and looped it. Kinda makes me want the other eleven minutes of naval gazing instrumentals and ethereal warbling that feels missing.

  2. Monolith is embarrassingly terrible.

  3. Love it!!!! They are still doing great despite idiots like CDH’s opinion

  4. It’s one sentence repeated over and over again. Song is shit, as is your opinion.

  5. These guys are more productive now than they ever were during their initial run.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *