'Retro:Active 7 - Rare & Remixed'

What better way to start off a brand-new month than with a fresh giveaway: Thanks to the generous folks at Canada’s HushMusic, we’ve got free copies of their forthcoming Retro:Active 7 — Rare & Remixed compilation CD to give away to three lucky Slicing Up Eyeballs readers.

If you’re not up on the Retro:Active series, Hi-Bias Records has been releasing the compilation CDs since 2004, bringing together rare and classic 12-inch and extended dance remixes of New Wave and synthpop acts from the ’80s and early ’90s — many of which have not been commercially available on CD before.

The seventh installment due out Sept. 28, and available for pre-order here features 11 mixes of tracks by the likes of Tears For Fears (“Suffer the Children”), Echo & The Bunnymen (“Bedbugs and Ballyhoo”), OMD (“Dreaming”), a-ha (“Stay On These Roads”) and Peter Hook side project Revenge (“Pineapple Face”). See full tracklist below.

To enter, simply leave a comment at the bottom of this post — if you’re feeling ambitious, you can also offer suggestions of rare mixes you’d like to see on future Retro:Active comps. Be sure to use a real e-mail address, since that’s how winners will be notified. We’ll accept entries — from anywhere in the world — through noon Eastern time on Sept. 28.

UPDATE 9/28/10: Commenters StefBaz from Beirut, Angela and Chris Davanzo have been randomly selected as winners of the Retro:Active 7 — Rare & Remixed CDs. Thanks to all for entering, and stay tuned for more contests.

See full tracklist for ‘Retro:Active 7 — Rare & Remixed’ after the jump…

'Retro:Active 7 - Rare & Remixed'

Tracklist: Retro:Active 7 – Rare & Remixed

1. Dead Or Alive, “Brand New Lover” (Up Ducky Mix) *
2. OMD, “Dreaming” (The William Orbit Remix) *
3. Blue Zoo, “Cry Boy Cry” (12-inch version) *
4. a-ha, “Stay On These Roads” (Extended Remix)
5. Belouis Some, “Animal Magic” (Dance Vocal) *
6. The Danse Society, “Heaven is Waiting” (Dance Remix) *
7. Echo & The Bunnymen, “Bedbugs and Ballyhoo” (Club Remix) *
8. The Adventures, “Send My Heart (Across the Sea Mix) *
9. Revenge, “Pineapple Face” (Big Day Remix)
10. Wang Chung, “Let’s Go” (Shep’s Mix) *
11. Tears For Fears, “Suffer the Children” (Remix) *

* Never before comercially available on CD


Tags: , , , , , , , ,