Album News, Tracklist, Video — March 10, 2011 at 7:25 am

The Smithereens return with all-new ‘2011’ album; stream first single ‘Sorry’

The Smithereens, circa 2011

Fresh off last year’s 30th anniversary celebration, New Jersey retro-rockers The Smithereens reunite this spring with their ’80s-era producer and “Fifth Smithereen” Don Dixon for the aptly titled Smithereens 2011, the band’s first collection of new material in more than 11 years.

Due out April 5, the 13-track album opens with the single “Sorry,” which can be streamed via, or you can check out a live performance of the song, filmed last fall, below. The band — original members Pat DiNizio, Jim Babjak and Dennis Diken, plus bassist Severo Jornacion, who replaced Mike Mesaros in 2006 — re-teamed with Dixon, who produced 1986’s Especially for You and 1988’s Green Thoughts.

DiNizio told Spinner that, for inspiration, the band wrote its new songs in the same rehearsal room on New York City’s Lower East Side that it used for Green Thoughts: “As a result, I think that we produced an album that sounds like a classic, vintage Smithereens album, but is also thoroughly fresh, contemporary and modern-sounding as well.”

Smithereens 2011 is the band’s first new material since 1999’s God Save the Smithereens.

See ‘Smithereens 2011’ tracklist and live video of ‘Sorry’ after the jump…

The Smithereens, 'Smithereens 2011'

Tracklist: The Smithereens, Smithereens 2011

1. “Sorry”
2. “One Look at You”
3. “A World of Our Own”
4. “Keep on Running”
5. “Rings on Her Fingers”
6. “As Long as You Are Near Me”
7. “Bring Back the One I Love”
8. “Nobody Lives Forever”
9. “Goodnight Goodbye”
10. “All the Same”
11. “Viennese Hangover”
12. “Turn It Around”
13. “What Went Wrong”



  1. good tune. Glad to have the boys back.

  2. nothing special

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *