Album News, Tracklist, Video — January 17, 2010 at 10:43 am

David Byrne and Fatboy Slim ready ‘Here Lies Love,’ their Imelda Marcos concept album

The name of this man is David Byrne

David Byrne and Fatboy Slim next month finally will release Here Lies Love, the duo’s long-gestating, star-laden 22-track concept album about former Filipino first lady — and noted shoe hoarder — Imelda Marcos and her relationship, as a child, with one of her family’s servants.

Due out Feb. 23, the project — available both as a 2CD set and a deluxe edition featuring the CDs, a DVD with six music videos and a 100-page book — features vocals by Tori Amos, Kate Pierson of The B-52s, Steve Earle, Cyndi Lauper, Natalie Merchant and Byrne himself, among many, many others (see full tracklist below).

On his website, Byrne describes the project:

“The story I am interested in is about asking what drives a powerful person — what makes them tick? How do they make and then remake themselves? I thought to myself, wouldn’t it be great if — as this piece would be principally composed of clubby dance music — one could experience it in a club setting? Could one bring a ‘story’ and a kind of theater to the disco? Was that possible? If so, wouldn’t that be amazing!”

Byrne, former Talking Heads leader, and Fatboy Slim, aka ex-Housemartins bassist Norman Cook, have been working on the dance-music project since the mid-2000s; Byrne himself has performed the piece at least four times, including its debut in 2006 in Adelaide, Australia (see video clip below), and a performance in 2007 at Carnegie Hall in New York.

UPDATE 1/19/09: Download the track “Please Don’t,” featuring Santigold on vocals, below.

See full tracklist for ‘Here Lies Love’ after the jump…

David Byrne and Fatboy Slim, 'Here Lies Love'

Tracklist: David Byrne and Fatboy Slim, Here Lies Love

Disc 1:
1.”Here Lies Love” (Vocal by Florence Welch of Florence and the Machine)
2.”Every Drop of Rain” (Vocal by Candie Payne and St. Vincent)
3.”You’ll Be Taken Care Of” (Vocal by Tori Amos)
4.”The Rose of Tacloban” (Vocal by Martha Wainwright)
5.”How Are you?” (Vocal by Nellie McKay)
6.”A Perfect Hand” (Vocal by Steve Earle)
7.”Eleven Days” (Vocal by Cyndi Lauper)
8.”When She Passed By” (Vocal by Allison Moorer)
9.”Walk Like A Woman” (Vocal by Charmaine Clamor)
10.”Don’t You Agree?” (Vocal by Róisín Murphy)
11.”Pretty Face” (Vocal by Camille)
12.”Ladies in Blue” (Vocal by Theresa Andersson)

Disc 2:
1.”Dancing Together” (Vocal by Sharon Jones)
2.”Men Will Do Anything” (Vocal by Alice Russell)
3.”The Whole Man” (Vocal by Kate Pierson)
4.”Never So Big” (Vocal by Sia)
5.”Please Don’t” (Vocal by Santigold)
6.”American Troglodyte” (Vocal by David Byrne)
7.”Solano Avenue” (Vocal by Nicole Atkins)
8.”Order 1081″ (Vocal by Natalie Merchant)
9.”Seven Years” (Vocal by David Byrne and Shara Worden)
10.”Why Don’t You Love Me?” (Vocals by Cyndi Lauper and Tori Amos)

Video: News coverage of 2006 premiere of ‘Here Lies Love’ in Australia


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *