Album News, Reunions, Tracklist, Video — January 23, 2010 at 10:56 am

The Clash’s Mick Jones, Paul Simonon reunite on Gorillaz’s upcoming ‘Plastic Beach’

The Clash's Mick Jones and Paul Simonon

The Clash’s Mick Jones and Paul Simonon have reunited on record for the first time since 1982’s Combat Rock, each contributing to the title track of the forthcoming Plastic Beach, the just-announced third album from Damon Albarn’s cartoon-fronted Gorillaz.

The 16-track disc — which also features guest turns by The Fall’s Mark E. Smith and Lou Reed, among others — is due out March 9, and will be preceded by first single “Stylo” (hear it below), which includes an assist from Bobby Womack and Mos Def. Gorillaz also were announced this week as one of this year’s Coachella headliners.

The Gorillaz album marks the second Clash reunion in months for Jones, who teamed up last year with drummer Nicky “Topper” Headon to re-record their former band’s “Jail Guitar Doors” for a documentary being made about Billy Bragg’s Jail Guitar Doors prisoner-rehabilitation program.

And for Simonon, the Gorillaz track reunites the ex-Clash bassist with Blur’s Albarn for the first time since the two participated in 2007’s The Good, The Bad & The Queen project. Last week, former Verve guitarist Simon Tong — who also played on The Good, The Bad & The Queentold the NME he expects that group to make a second album together.

See full tracklist for Gorillaz’s ‘Plastic Beach’ and hear ‘Stylo’ after the jump…

Gorillaz, 'Plastic Beach'

Tracklist: Gorillaz, Plastic Beach

1. “Orchestral Intro” (fea. Sinfonia ViVA)
2. “Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach” (feat. Snoop Dogg & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. “White Flag” (feat. Kano, Bashy & The National Orchestra For Arabic Music)
4. “Rhinestone Eyes”
5. “Stylo” (feat. Bobby Womack & Mos Def)
6. “Superfast Jellyfish” (feat. Gruff Rhys & De La Soul)
7. “Empire Ants” (feat. Little Dragon)
8. “Glitter Freeze” (feat. Mark E Smith)
9. “Some Kind Of Nature”  (feat. Lou Reed)
10. “On Melancholy Hill”
11. “Broken”
12. “Sweepstakes” (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. “Plastic Beach” (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14. “To Binge” (feat. Little Dragon)
15. “Cloud Of Unknowing” (feat. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
16. “Pirate Jet”



  1. LivingInFame

    I can’t believe it! Mick Jones, Paul Simonon AND Damon Albarn on one track. F’in awesome! I need this song right now..
    It’ll probably be the last thing I listen to before I die!

  2. Don’t forget awesome Little Dragon, album is badass! Still listening hardcore 11 years later! Mind blowing that it’s this old already. :(

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *